Linguine with Clam Sauce and Baby Portobello Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Thank you, Mountainrider! I am not a pasta fan, nor do I know much about clams, but your recipe is such a fantastic balance that I couldn't stop eating. It is inexpensive and easy and will definitely go to the top of my "company dinners" list. I did cut the butter in half after reading other reviews, and needed to cut some of the bouillon because of the sodium. Still, the flavor was fantastic!!! I've been cooking for over 50 years, and it's nice to know that there are still some surprises out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Been making clam sauce for years, but never used mushrooms before and this takes it over the top! Did sub coconut oil for the olive oil, doubled the garlic used, and used low sodium chix boullion and some homemade chicken broth. No need for the 30 minute simmer, I just thickened with some corn starch and 1/2 and 1/2 added at the end and cooked for a few minutes before adding the clams. Butter went on the spags after they were done cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Amazing! I did make a few changes based on what I had on hand and my love of garlic. I made 2 servings but only used one can of clams (it's all I had), doubled the garlic, added some crushed red pepper to the garlic step and I substituted clam base for the chicken bouillion. I did not add the double garlic to the skillet until the mushrooms were almost done, then I added about 1/2 cup of white wine to make up for one less can of clam juice and reduced that by 1/2 before adding the next ingredients. Everything cooked way faster than the recipe says. I only cooked the last step with the butter and clams for a few minutes so the clams weren't overcooked. So good! I would be proud to serve this to guests :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
very good recipe....did change it up a bit....i used only 2 chicken bouillons and i also added some white wine (1/8th of a cup) i sauteed a whole onion prior to sauteing the mushrooms with 2 chopped cloves of garlic and then added the mushrooms and 1 shallott..used italian seasoning (instead of seperate basil and oregano... served to my sister and boyfriend we ate it all up that night. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
the flavor is really good but I agree with the previous posters that it is a bit salty. Next time I would cut down on the bullion (even though I use Knorr, which tastes less salty than some of the other cheap brands). For this batch that I made as per the directions...I added 1cup of homemade chicken broth (which is unsalted) . (I made half a batch for small family here..for a whole batch that would be 2 cups). The other posters adding a splash of white wine just sounded good so I did that too! Really though...the salt thing is my only complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I am not the best cook and have always been intimidated by clam linguine because I thought would be a difficult dish to make. When I ran across this recipe and saw how easy it seemed, I decided to give it a try. I have now made it several times for several different people, changing absolutely nothing about the recipe as written. Everyone who has tried it RAVES about it and requests I make it again. I even love it, and I am definitely my own worst critic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
My husband went nuts over this recipe. He said it is the best clam sauce he's ever had. I have to agree! He even ate the leftovers cold a few hours after supper! LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I was so excited about this dish. Clams AND Portobello on pasta?!? What's not yummy about that? Well, in my case, it was all the salt. And I *like* salt. I suppose it could have been the clams that I bought from Trader Joe's, but the recipe make so much, I can't justify another go-round to find out. Edible. But definitely not a fave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prunella

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Very good, I didn't use chicken bouillon to salty. Did add a little red wine. Other than that it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
One of the best thing I've made in a long time! Used stock instead of bouillon, added some yellow bell peppers and sliced onions to beef it up a bit. Slightly less butter, but the flavors are awesome!!! Kudos to the chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bridgeport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Italian Spaghetti Sauce with Meatballs

This classic tomato pasta sauce with meatballs is easy and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States