Linguine and Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2003
My husband and I decided that this dish was good enough that it would not have been out of place if served at a solid Italian restaurant. I added a little white wine and lemon juice to the sauce (while it was simmering) to great effect. The lemon juice gave the sauce a little pizzazz. The overall effect was a sauce that had many distinct flavors without being overpowering. Next time I might add some more clams -- possibly whole clams. This quality pasta recipe promises to be a regular at our dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
Excellent. I doubled the sauce, used 2 cans of minced clams(reserving juice from both) and 1 can of small clams. Added a couple squirts of lemon. Garnished with real clams in shells and served with a good crusty bread. As good as any restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I can't say that we found this to be anything to brag about. I even added 1/4 cup red and 1/4 cup green chopped bell peppers and 1/4 cup of fresh, sliced mushrooms to the saute. Still, the result was nothing more than butter and noodles...with a couple of veggies and clams. I would certaintly not serve to company and doubt I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
If 4 & 1/2 stars were an option, that is what I would rate this recipe. However after reading some of the past reviews, this is how I prepared the dish: I used 1 tbls fresh parsley and 1 tbls fresh basil. I prepared the sauce as directed by using 1/2 of the butter suggested and adding some white wine and a little fresh squeezed lemon juice. I sauted some mushrooms on the side with the remaining half of butter and added some italian seasonings. Half way through the simmering process of the sauce, I added a dash of red pepper flakes (will add just a tad more the next time I make this) with the sauted mushrooms. I tossed all with a garlic and parsley flavored linguini cooked al dante. This was very, very good and very easy. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Nice recipe. I don't like it when people make big changes, but, I did make a few (trying to use up ingredients from another recipe). I reduced the olive oil to just a few tablespoons and used it to saute the garlic with a little added minced onion. I also added 1/2 cup each of white wine and heavy cream. The dish came out beautifully, but the sauce was even better the next two days for leftovers (became more creamy). Make sure to add the pasta to the sauce and blend before serving, don't pour the sauce over the noodles. Easy, inexpensive and a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Simons Island, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
If I could rate this more than 5 I would. My family loved this. Made as stated as far as ingredients but I did add an extra can of clams and I did use chopped clams. Since everyone fought over the clams, I will put in 4 cans next time. I also added six cloves of garlic (per our taste). I did have a little bit of noodles leftover but there was nothing else leftover. Served with asiago garlic bread and it was perfect for sopping up the sauce. Thanks so much Peg. Great meal and quick to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2004
I have been making this for years, with the exception of adding butter. I use two cans of Whole clams (I love clams), minced clams just don't do it for me. I also add parsley, oregano, garlic salt and garlic powder. It is wonderful. Thanks Peg for sharing your recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy Mae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jaymo
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I enjoyed this recipe as a great starting point. My premise was that seafood tastes better with acid so I added half a lemon to the reduction. I also added some chili flakes, green onions, white wine, chicken stock and a little fresh oregano. I also reduced the sauce for at least 20 minutes since there was a lot more liquod and it came out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2003
This was ok. I added more garlic and chopped basil. I think it would taste better with a white wine sauce and whole clams. I agree with the past review...tasted more like a oily garlic sauce. Not sure if I'll make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
This is a restaurant/gourmet caliber dish! It is important to make sure that the clam sauce and Parmesan cheese is mixed well into the linguini noodles for maximum flavor. I added 1/4 lb. of sauteed mushrooms and flavored them along with the clam sauce with some dill. Also, I increased the number of cans of the clams to 4; using 2 cans of smoked clams (which made a noticeable difference). I generously sprinkled lemon juice on top which really brought out the taste. Serve this with Italian herb or Asiago Cheese Bread to sop up olive oil clam sauce. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cowboy Mark

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ellensburg, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States