Linguine and Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
I feel obligated to point out that true italian cooking is rustic, you have to keep in mind the origins behind a dish. Linguini with clam sauce isn't supposed to be complicated, it's about pasta and clams with a nice rich subtle dressing. I have made this several times and I use 3 cans of minced clams, 1/4 - 1/2 a bottle of clam juice, more garlic and omit the parmesan. I also heavily salt the pasta water to flavor the pasta and add salt and pepper to taste before combining. I always serve this with a nice crusty italian loaf and I usualy pair it with an Australian Reisling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starr.Gazer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Easy, quick and tastes great. Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I have been making a very similar recipe for years. It calls for 1/2 tsp freshly ground pepper, 1 tsp oregano and 2 tsp basil. With the addition of the herbs, this is better than any restaurant version I have had, but be mindful of the calories! Use whole grain pasta to off set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Millinocket, Maine, USA
Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Made this last night for supper and everyone loved it. I also sauted the garlic in oil first then added remaining ingredients to the pan. I used half amount of pasta called for and I also halved the butter. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe was very bland. It is quick and easy but thats the price you pay for a less than mediocre meal. I added extra garlic and a few other seasonings to try to spice it up a bit but overall the sauce is just butter and oil. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marjaneh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kersey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I felt this dish was fairly bland. I even tried to sprucen it up with some extra seasoning. I believe next time I will buy a jar of Parmasan Sauce to go along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isabel Rivera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is my families personal favorite! I add 2 additional cans of chopped clams, I like a lot of clams! I also add 1/2 of white wine and of course fresh grated parmigiano-reggiano cheese. Serve with a crusty bread, and every plate will be wiped clean for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
Oh my gosh!!! So very good!! I also omitted the oil and butter, added 1 cup of white wine and some chopped red pepper from a jar. I've never had pasta with clam sauce before and boy have I been missing out. The only change I might make is next time I'll add more clams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Lee Starnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelby, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Gastonia, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I love this recipe because it's great on it's own when I want something straightforward, but it's also wonderful with additions or changes. I used a 10oz can of whole baby clams (it's what I had), added some fire-roasted red peppers and some Marsala wine (I'd use dry white next time, but again, it's what I had) to this sauce and it was delicious! Top it with toasted pine nuts and fresh grated parmesan and it's a bit of heaven. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AEZEPP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
My kids devoured it and asked me to make more next time so they could take leftovers for lunch. Easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States