Linguine with Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacomino
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
Like many others, I'd like to suggest just a few tweaks that make this a 5 star recipe. Use olive oil (I used extra virgin) rather than vegetable oil. I added 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes but sautéed them in oil first to tame their spiciness. I also added 3/4 Tbsp corn starch (sifted) to thicken the sauce. Oh, and I always prefer fresh over dried basil and parsley so I used those to taste. I topped the whole thing with a little parmesan cheese and fresh squeezed lemon. All these tweaks added layers and depth to the recipe that worked VERY well. If fresh clams are available, get enough to serve a couple per serving and add that much more fun to this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Very tasty. We really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
This is a family favorite! Use Olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Add a splash of lemon juice and top with parmesan cheese for a fast and tasty meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMAKOWSKY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I omitted the butter, used Milanese Gremolata olive oil ("infused" purchased from an olive oil store), topped with a little grated Parmesan and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
It was totally bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Delicious! Made the recipe as it and we loved it. very easy and fast preparation. Added some fresh parmesan cheese after serving over linguini. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This was so easy and delicious! I varied the recipe slightly out of convenience but I'm sure it's great as is. Here's what I did, which I would suggest if you want to make this dinner even nicer: Steam ~2 dozen little neck clams in garlic butter and white wine per the instructions of this Allrecipes article, http://allrecipes.com/howto/cooking-clams/. Remove the clams from the pan and set aside, but leave the liquid on low heat and let it reduce a bit. Add 3 tbsp butter (since I already used 1 tbsp making the garlic butter for the clams) and most of the ingredients above. I omitted any additional garlic since I already used a full teaspoon and only used about 2 tbsp of olive oil. Follow the rest of the directions and serve topped with the steamed clams. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
The sauce to pasta ratio is way too low. As is, too oily without any substance. So much fat, and no body.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great and easy. I swapped veg oil with EVOO. Used fresh basil and used Italian seasoning as I had no parsley. Served with salad, made a fast and easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Needed some changes - olive oil not vegetable oil. Also added a touch of white wine, lemon juice, along with seasoning (salt and pepper). I also added half&half to give it a slightly creamier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 183) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States