Linguine with Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
My husband and I are both Italian, so everything I make has to be authentic! This recipe is wonderful. I followed the ingredients as written, (except for using olive oil, of course!!) I know the amount of oil and butter may scare some, but it does make the dish. There are other recipes using only clam juice and wine as the base, but I find them not as decadent with lack of substance (much lower in fat and calories though:). I did sautee the garlic first(tons of garlic!), added crushed red pepper, and thickened it with some fresh parmesan at the end. I know some reviewers used cornstarch and flour, and that may have been good, but I was scared to do it! Anyway, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
352 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I used OLIVE oil (1/4 cup), 2 tbs. butter, and 4 garlic cloves. I gave it 3 stars with the vegetable oil-try it with olive oil for a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
Excellent. I searched all over the site to find the best linguine with clams recipe, and this one did not disappoint. I used half the amount of olive oil that is recommended, simply because the amount of total fat scared the pants off of me. I subbed half of the pasta cooking water for 1/4 cup of oil. I also used fresh basil, and about four cloves of garlic. Rave reviews from dinner party guests. They practically licked their plates. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
Great basic sauce! I tried it once with no changes and it was very good. Last night, for the second try, I used Pepperolio (spiced olive oil) with the butter. I sauteed lots of garlic and a few sprinkles of red pepper flakes in the butter/oil before proceeding. Instead of thickening the sauce with cornstarch I used some finely grated parmesan cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Playa Del Carmen, Quintana Roo, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2000
This is the best linguine with clam sauce I've ever had. Even better than from a restaurant. And the sauce is so easy - I started the sauce when I started the water for the pasta and they were both ready at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
Real easy and tasty. When I want to be ''fancy" I use real little necks and a ''fancier'' recipe (more herbs, wine, etc). But for quick and simple to the table in 15 minutes this is a WINNER of a basic and easy recipe. I only did things a little differently - used olive oil instead of veg. oil and used garlic puree instead of minced garlic - I was out of fresh. And last five minutes added 1/3 cup grated parma cheese to make sauce a little thicker along with a 1/4 pasta water (starchy water helps thicken instead of corn starch). Then I only added the clams the last two minutes or so of cooking so they would not get too chewy. In the time it took to cook the pasta the sauce was ready! Recipe ''adaptions'' aside, this is a great recipe and I already printed a copy to keep it handy for next time. Clams are already on my grocery list again for when I make this again! Thanks Miss Dorothy for helping me find a new twist on one of my old favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
I grew up on Spaghetti & Clams, My grandma used to make it all the time. But, This is the best sauce I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
WOW!! Very rich, even with using light butter. Love the deep flavor, surely better than adding white wine. This is our new favorite dinner and so fast to put together- this deserves 10 stars!!! Always take advice of Italians and added the extra garlic, red pepper flakes and parmesan cheese. Even added extra parsley :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
WOW! very impressed, especially given how fast it went together! as some of the reviews suggested, i halved the oil, added 2 tbsp sour cream, and 1 tbsp cornstarch. i also used 4 cloves of garlic - can't go wrong with garlic. turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Yummo! I followed the advice of those before me and altered the recipe: I used 5 minced garlic cloves, about 1.5 tbl basil, 2 tbl of butter, 1/3 c. olive oil, juice of 3 cans of clams--but the meat of 3 cans & topped each portion with shredded parmesan. My husband & I loved it -Even my 3 year son ate it (minus the clams)! We took the leftovers for lunch the next day and it was even better! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I radically changed the prescribed recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casserolequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States