Linguine with Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Great recipe! My kids love it too. I use olive oil, and saute the the garlic first. Then add about 1/3 to 1/2 cup dry white wine. After about a minute, add all of the other ingredients and a dozen clams. Once the clams open I add about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of cream to make it into a nice white sauce. Add fresh parsly at the end. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
These are good ingredients, but I do have some additions. I use about a half of a small yellow onion, 1/4 cup white wine and olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I also use fresh parsley. Saute the onion, garlic, and 1/2 of the parsley in the olive oil and then add the wine. Simmer the sauce with the clams and juice while the pasta cooks. When the pasta is ready I make a roux with flour and butter, and add it to the sauce to thicken. Then I combine all the ingredients. It's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marissa G.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This recipe is just what it claims to be - quick and easy. It's not like the linguine with clam sauce you'd expect from a restaurant, but it's still really yummy and good. I sauteed the garlic before dumping in all the ingredients, and used olive oil as recommended by so many other reviewers. I found the liquid a bit liquidy and might try adding some of the pasta sauce to the final minutes of cooking to try to thicken it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Easy and delicious recipe using canned clams. Canned clams are an excellent source of iron and I'd prefer to eat this instead of liver! I added the parm at the end as suggested by others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by caffeinekelli
Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was my first attempt at clam linguine, and it was so much easier than I expected. I get this at a local restaurant and like it, but their sauce is pretty bland. This sauce, is not. I made it just as written but reduced the oil to 1/4 cup. I thought I would try it based on other reviews knowing I could just add it in later if needed, but I didnt think it needed it. The sauce is very flavorful, but only enough for two servings if you ask me. The author says to add chicken broth to extend it, but I didnt see that and added a bit of the water from the pasta. It worked fine, but the broth would be better. All in all, I will make it again, and again, and again. Cheaper than the restaurant, better flavor, and now that I've done it once, I could make this start to finish in 15 minutes. What dinner can you make in 15 minutes that tastes like this and satisfies that craving for clam linguine? I cant even drive to the restaurant that fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My Fiance is Sicilian and when I was searching for a new recipe I came across this. This is the exact recipe his Nonna(grandmother) uses that her family has made since they were in Sicily! Only minor differences, we use fresh parsley and olive oil
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DKblumchen
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Took the suggestions and made this with olive oil instead of plain veg oil, more garlic, used red pepper flakes, the parmesan, and FRESH Italian parsley. Helloooo-was it ever yummy!!! Also, I added an extra can of chopped clams for more body, and only simmered the liquid from them with the other ingredients (mom's from WA, and it's sacrilege to over-cook seafood), then added the clams at the end just to heat them through. Had the leftovers for lunch next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DKblumchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
This was good. I also used olive oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is a great clam sauce recipe. Not oily and can be seasoned how you like. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
What a great tasting, wonderful recipe. I make several hours ahead so the flavors blend together. It will seem like you spent forever making such a delicious dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States