Linguine with Clam Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was SO good and easy to make. My husband who grew up on the coast said, "It's the best ever" and my kids (6 and 8) loved it too. I made a couple of changes based on other reviews. I used 1/2 the butter, olive oil instead of veg oil, 3 cans of clams (1 minced, 2 chopped), more basil, and added 1/2 T oregano. Also, I added about 1/8 C parmesean, 1/8 C pasta water and 1/4 C milk to help it thicken. I served it over gluten free pasta and it was amazing. We are fighting over who gets the small amount of leftovers tomorrow :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My husband comes from a family of chefs and awesome cooking...need less to say he is hard to please! I made this on a quick, before I left for work dinner not only was it quick but easy and left him speechless! Worth trying!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I believe this was a great recipe. Did use olive oil versus vegetable oil and added 1/2 finely chopped onion and parmesan cheese to thicken at the end but overall great flavor. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
For one pound of pasta, I found that only 2 cans of clams wasn't enough. Instead, I used 4 cans of chopped (not minced) clams and the clam juice, 2/3 cup of extra virgin olive oil and 4 cloves of chopped fresh garlic. I added one tsp of all purpose flour mixed with 1/4 c cold milk, then added it to the sauce at the end, cooking until bubbly, for thickness and mixed into the well-drained and slightly dry pasta. The drier the pasta, the more it will absorb the clam sauce. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mariann Salerno

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipes takes little time to make and is tasty. I used fresh, bottled clams and include the clam juice. It keeps well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
As is, it is BLAND. Add some parmesan, some crushed red pepper and about 12 times as much garlic and it's yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This recipe rocked! I've made it 3 times in the last 3 weeks. I used 2 large cloves of garlic and added crushed red pepper to the garlic as it simmered. As recommended by some, I used 1/2 the butter and replaced it with equal volumes of pasta water. I finished the pasta off in the pan with the sauce and added parmesean cheese to thicken it. Soooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
Great and super easy recipe. I used olive oil and a little fresh lemon juice. Sautee the garlic with olive oil before adding clams. Super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was a good recipe to get started with - there are so many variables one can do- I did saute the garlic in olive oil and added red pepper flakes - fresh basil and parsley and added a little low fat half and half. at the end to thicken just a bit.... really very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This recipe is great using CRAB meat instead of Clam also!!! (I double the crab to 4 cans - 2 cans minced crab & 2 cans chunky crab.) My men LOVE it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 184) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Linguine with White Clam Sauce II

See how to make a light clam sauce with garlic, basil, and fresh parsley.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Spaghetti with Red Clam Sauce

See how to make a super-simple pasta dish with flavorful clam sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States