Linda's Monster Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
Good recipe. I made a few changes. Eliminated margarine, I couldn't bring myself to use it!!!! I added 1/2 cup butter & 1 cup peanut butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
"I made these today for Valentine's day for my Sunday school class and my own kids. I used 3 cups of holiday candy pieces and 1 cup of chocolate chips. Like the preceeding review, I didn't use margarine, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup peanut butter instead. Shaped into 2 inch balls or larger, and placed a giant craft stick in the center of the balls. I than flattened slightly with a fork. I did bake them for 14 minutes, because I think everyones ovens are different. After cookies are cooled wrap in holiday goodie bags. These were the best monster cookies ever. Thanks they were a big hit!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I have made this recipe several times altering different aspects each time and to me this is the best cookie recipe ever. The changes I made were 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter instead of 1 cup butter, 3 cups flour and 5 cups oatmeal, not 4 and 4, 4 teaspoons of vanila instead of 2, 3/4 cup of the candy not 1 cup and add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Also these cookies bake up best when they are large. I roll the cookie dough into a ball slightly larger than a golf ball. If you try to make smaller cookies you end up with a lot of the candy and chocolate chips on the outside of the cookie not baked inside. I always make the full recipe and freeze most of them. These are delicious fresh but tend to stale quickly. I freeze any cookies that won't be eaten in 3-4 days. They defrost quickly and taste as though they were baked that day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
My husband came home from work raving about Monster cookies that another wife sent in. So, I figured I needed to try them. They are pretty good and easy to make. A really nice change from plain chocolate chip cookies. They are huge though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I made these for some friends at camp and they all sent me thank you notes within a week, one all the way from Russia! Thanks for such a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
These were very good, and a great cookie for when you can't make up your mind between chocolate chip and "candy coated chocolate" cookies. I used all butter and the first batch burned on the bottom. I reduced the oven temperature to 325 degrees and the following batches were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
These are some of the best cookies I have ever eaten!!! I read previous reviews and here's how I adjusted mine. Baked at 325 for 13-14 minutes, no burning. Instead of maragine I added an additional 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of peanut butter. Next time I may change to add a little more peanut butter, because I like the taste of peanut butter, it was not overpowering though. Since I made this for bake sale I used red and blue M&M's for the candy. I also sprinkled red, white and blue sprinkles on top before baking. They looked so festive. BEWARE this recipe makes a ton of cookies I ended up with like 9 dozen, you may want to half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2003
Maybe I'm just "picky". Flavor was good, but it wasn't the outstanding cookie that I thought it would be. I followed someone's advice and used all butter. They didn't store real well as they were easy to crumble. I would add more M&M's also, and maybe some other goodies. The hunt is on for that extra special cookie though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
These were a huge hit with my family and coworkers. I used 2 other reviews: I made them golf ball sized and flattened them a tiny bit on the pan and baked for 14 minutes. I also omitted the margarine and used 1/2 C more butter and 2 C Peanut Butter. Delicious, beautiful cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Great cookies, but in the grand tradition of allrecipes, I altered them somewhat. The only monster cookies I've ever had, had peanut butter in them, so I added 1.5 cups p.b., omitting margarine, used butter flavored shortening instead of butter (I like soft and chewy), used 3 cups of b. sugar and 1 cup w. sugar, and finally mini chocolate chips and mini M&Ms-2 cups. These were some serious cookies-very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States