Linda's Monster Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
I have made this recipe several times altering different aspects each time and to me this is the best cookie recipe ever. The changes I made were 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter instead of 1 cup butter, 3 cups flour and 5 cups oatmeal, not 4 and 4, 4 teaspoons of vanila instead of 2, 3/4 cup of the candy not 1 cup and add 1/2 cup chopped walnuts. Also these cookies bake up best when they are large. I roll the cookie dough into a ball slightly larger than a golf ball. If you try to make smaller cookies you end up with a lot of the candy and chocolate chips on the outside of the cookie not baked inside. I always make the full recipe and freeze most of them. These are delicious fresh but tend to stale quickly. I freeze any cookies that won't be eaten in 3-4 days. They defrost quickly and taste as though they were baked that day
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
These were a huge hit with my family and coworkers. I used 2 other reviews: I made them golf ball sized and flattened them a tiny bit on the pan and baked for 14 minutes. I also omitted the margarine and used 1/2 C more butter and 2 C Peanut Butter. Delicious, beautiful cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
These cookies were delicious! I only made half of the recipe and I followed MJSJSMITH's ideas, using 1/2 cup of peanut butter, 1/2 cup butter flavor shortening, 1 1/2 cups of brown sugar and a 1/2 cup of white sugar. I also used kosher salt, bread flour instead of all purpose flour, and chocolate chunks instead of chocolate chips. The dough was a bit crumbly but the cookies came out great(crispy on the outside, soft and chewy in the inside). Wonderful cookies!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
I could screw up the lords prayer when it comes to baking cookies but these were the best things I have ever baked hands down ! The recipe is huge so I scaled down to half.Subsituted the candy coated chocolate for raisins and baked at 325 instead of 350 about 14 minutes. Crispy on the outside and chewy in the middle ! Awesome !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWINGYOURDONUTS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Lower Sackville, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2001
Good recipe. I made a few changes. Eliminated margarine, I couldn't bring myself to use it!!!! I added 1/2 cup butter & 1 cup peanut butter. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
"I made these today for Valentine's day for my Sunday school class and my own kids. I used 3 cups of holiday candy pieces and 1 cup of chocolate chips. Like the preceeding review, I didn't use margarine, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup peanut butter instead. Shaped into 2 inch balls or larger, and placed a giant craft stick in the center of the balls. I than flattened slightly with a fork. I did bake them for 14 minutes, because I think everyones ovens are different. After cookies are cooled wrap in holiday goodie bags. These were the best monster cookies ever. Thanks they were a big hit!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
I made these for some friends at camp and they all sent me thank you notes within a week, one all the way from Russia! Thanks for such a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauseon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
These were very good, and a great cookie for when you can't make up your mind between chocolate chip and "candy coated chocolate" cookies. I used all butter and the first batch burned on the bottom. I reduced the oven temperature to 325 degrees and the following batches were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2003
These are some of the best cookies I have ever eaten!!! I read previous reviews and here's how I adjusted mine. Baked at 325 for 13-14 minutes, no burning. Instead of maragine I added an additional 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of peanut butter. Next time I may change to add a little more peanut butter, because I like the taste of peanut butter, it was not overpowering though. Since I made this for bake sale I used red and blue M&M's for the candy. I also sprinkled red, white and blue sprinkles on top before baking. They looked so festive. BEWARE this recipe makes a ton of cookies I ended up with like 9 dozen, you may want to half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIBBY1979

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
Great cookies, but in the grand tradition of allrecipes, I altered them somewhat. The only monster cookies I've ever had, had peanut butter in them, so I added 1.5 cups p.b., omitting margarine, used butter flavored shortening instead of butter (I like soft and chewy), used 3 cups of b. sugar and 1 cup w. sugar, and finally mini chocolate chips and mini M&Ms-2 cups. These were some serious cookies-very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States