Linda's Monster Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
These cookies were so good! I did alter the recipe though...I halved it first off, and instead of butter subbed in peanut butter. Also, I cut out about 1/2 cup of flour and put in extra rolled outs instead. I added butterscotch chips in too, but wished I hadn't since they were the overpowering flavor (but still good!). They came out huge (I used an ice cream scoop, and didn't press the dough down at all once on the sheet), chewy and great looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
My husband doesn't like chocolate, so I made a couple of changes. I replaced the 1/2 cup of margarine with 1/2 cup peanut butter. And I took out the chocolate chips and M&M's and used about a cup of Reeces Pieces instead. I followed a couple other reviewers in the cooking time--I baked them at 325 degrees for about 15 minutes and they were nicely browned but still soft and chewy inside. My husband took one bite and started saying how good they were! I halved the recipe and got a lot of cookies--12 JUMBO and about 15 regular/large size. This is my new favorite peanut butter cookie recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I have finally found 'MY' cookie recipe! Delish! This makes alot but is so easy to throw together because it is the perfect sized batch to fit in my big Kitchen Aid. And with no peanut butter or nuts it is ok for school lunches. I am taking some to 4H later on this afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is my favorite cookie recipe! I've been making it for about 6 yrs. and I always get rave reviews. I substitute peanut butter for the margarine and make 1/2 recipe. I use the med. Pampered Chef scoop (about 2 T.) for each cookie and bake for 11 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
THESE COOKIES ARE EXCELLENT! I was looking to make the same monster cookies you buy from Sobey's Bakery (IGA) and these have oatmeal, which I wasn't thrilled about at first... They are everyone's favourite... It makes 2 icecream pail's full and I've made them SEVERAL times -- Candy pieces-- Smarties are a must!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
ADDICTIVE. I half the recipe when i make these. Instead of margerine I use smooth peanut butter. These are really delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Yummo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Huge batch to make with original recipe. I may cut it in half next time. They worked out well for giving out some holiday cookies. Tasty chewy cookies with a great texture and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEATHER_ARTISTE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
After looking at MANY different recipes and reading lots of reviews for this one on this site; I used several of the other's suggestions and this is what I came up with. I used 1 1/2 cups of peanut butter, 1 cup of butter, 2 3/4 cups of brown sugar, 3/4 cups of white sugar (this was plenty sweet for our taste). I increased vanilla to 2 Tbl. only used about 3 1/4 cup flour, increased the oatmeal to 5 cups and used half quick cooking and half regular. I also followed another's suggestion and ran this through my mini food processor. I used 1 cup of mini chocolate chips and 1 cup of mini M&M pieces, 1 cup of chopped pecans and 1 cup of coconut. Made golf ball size rolls, flattened slightly and baked for 11 minutes at 350. These came out looking really nice, not dry, held their shape and tasted great! Soft and chewy. I got 6 dozen out of my recipe with cookies about 3 inches across. I have never eaten Monster Cookies but I liked the idea of them having peanut butter and I followed another's suggestion and made a few tweaks of my own. That said, I still think they are a 5 star but since I made so many changes, I wasn't sure how to rate this. I think you could really just "play with" this basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Texas, USA
Living In: Overton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This was ALMOST 5 stars, because I think all monster cookies should have peanut butter! I followed the recipe and added a 1/2 cup of peanut butter when creaming the sugar, butter and eggs. They turned out fantastic, but I did have to bake them about 11 minutes to get chewy cookies. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Jumbo Dark Chocolate Cookies

These dark chocolate cookies will double your chocolate delight.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States