Linda's Monster Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
These are not monster cookies. I would call them oatmeal chocolate chip cookies. And, I'm not impressed. Mine turned out crunchy and blah. I should have stuck with my go to recipe instead of trying something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Frauline
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I quadruple checked the recipe to make sure I wasn't missing anything...because the dough was so dry. I've never seen anything like it...it was like raking through sand. That's even after adding peanut butter to the recipe which should help hold the mix together. When baking, they didn't spread like cookies should...couldn't even tell that they were baking unless I checked the bottom. I followed the recipe exactly except for the peanut butter, which should have been an aide instead of a hinder...had to add a few tablespoons of water to get a better consistency. Everyone loved the taste though...I'm still teetering in the middle over this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frauline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Super Yummy! I was looking for a monster cookie recipe that didn't contain peanut butter so my daughter could take them to school in her lunch. I halfed the recipe and used butter in place of the margarine. I made the cookies large and baked them for 12 minutes @ 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Great cookies! So chewy and good! I love that it makes a big batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
These cookies have become somewhat of a legend in my family the past few years, that's how great they are! I make them for all special occasions, and as an amazing comfort food (feeling down? Eat these cookies and you'll perk right up, I swear!) I use a lot less white sugar, about one cup instead of two (otherwise it's just way too sweet for me), and I like to add a bit more flour and oats, because I like my cookies more doughy and thick (the kind that look like little mountains, rather than the flat, gooey kind). I also use butter rather than margarine, but that's a personal preference. It's very easy to change this recipe to suit your tastes - less chocolate chips, more M&M's, Heath toffee pieces, walnuts, add cinnamon and maple extract for an autumn-themed cookie, or use peanut butter chips for a salty-sweet treat. It's a huge recipe, but it easily halves or even quarters for smaller servings. Needless to say, I absolutely adore this recipe and all the things I can do with it, thank you so much for putting it up! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Great recipe. I only gave four stars because I used peanut butter (chunky, because I like the texture it gives the cookies) instead of margarine. I think that is the only thing you need to change when making these cookies. But they are wonderful! I halved the recipe and used an ice cream scoop for the dough and still got 32 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyb

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I made the same changes that many others did: instead of margarine, add another 1/2 cup of butter onto the 1 cup already listed (for a total of 1.5 cups of butter) and 1 cup of peanut butter. These came out awesome! Everyone loved them, and it does make a TON of cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Yummm! These went by so fast! Next time I will listen to other reviewers and add peanut butter,because my son said theyd taste better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli Dugan Chong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
Added 2 T. water to get exact consistency...PERFECT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay Center, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Out of this world delicious. Followed the recipe exactly. Melt in your mouth perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Monster Cookies VI

These cookies are bursting with oats, peanut butter, and whatever else you love!

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Kitchen Sink Cookies

If you love your cookies loaded up with everything, here’s the cookie for you!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States