Linda's Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
I have become famous for making this lasagna. It really is a fabulous recipe. One thing to note, though, is that cottage cheese will not work for lasagna -- you need to get the 15-oz. container of WHOLE MILK ricotta. Also, a good idea is to bake it for the 30 minutes the night before, keep it in the refrigerator, and the next day, sprinkle the 1/2 pound of mozz on top and then bake for 15 minutes before serving. That way, the flavors gel overnight, but you still get the feeling of eating the lasagna "fresh".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
679 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is the one! I love lasagna so I've tried many recipes looking for that special one and this is it. The only change I made was that I added fresh mushrooms and a bit more water to the sauce. STICK WITH THE COTTAGE CHEESE! I decided to try the cottage cheese instead of the ricotta like many others changed and I'm glad I stayed with cottage cheese. I did blend the cottage cheese up with a hand mixer however so it came out to the same consistancy as ricotta and so there wouldn't be any noticable curds in the lasagna. I've used ricotta on many other recipes and the cottage cheese beats it in flavor and creaminess by far!!! I will never use ricotta again. Thanks for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
527 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Utah, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
I made this for a crowd Christmas Eve. I thought it was terrible even after trying to kick it up a knotch with additional spices and meat. I used top of the line ingredigents. Very disappointing. I should know by experience not to trust ratings esp on a holiday! Some one said it tasted like Stouffers Lasagna---and it did! Save your self the trouble and buy Stouffers. I am sorry but stouffers is not my idea of good lasagne---just a quick cheap substitute in a pinch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2006
This was excellent! I've only made lasagna one other time and this was so much better. I did use Ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese only because of what I remember about eating cottage and peaches as a snack as a kid (ARGH). Never want cottage cheese again. Instead of no-bake noodle or boiling the noodles, I placed them in room temperature water for about 40 minutes and that worked great. (got this from someone else on AllRecipes) I added about 1 teaspoon of basil and a bay leaf to the sauce while it simmered. Be sure to remove the bay leaf! Since it's only me and my 21 year old son at home, I have a lot of leftovers and it was exceptional the next day. I also shared with my niece and her 2 year old and they loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
Excellent lasagna. I added riccotta cheese instead of cottage like everyone else did...GOOD idea! also, added: white wine, italian seasoning, fresh-chopped parsley, and mushrooms to the sauce. It really adds flavor to it. In addition, instead of cooking the sauce, I put it in the slow-cooker for an hour on high, then on low all day which really makes the sauce shine. Just remember to add a bit of water and/or wine to it throughout the day. Best stuff you'll ever taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
93 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
Excellent! I used cottage cheese and no-boil noodles. This lasagna is different how you don't layer everything like other lasagnas. I think this helps it stay together. Very tasty! We split it into 10 servings and each serving was a perfect portion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stewartville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2006
I have tried several different lasagnas now and this is mine & my husband's favorite so far. I added 1 (10-oz) package frozen spinach with the parmesan & egg, only used 4 oz cottage cheese, and used 1 cup shredded mozzarella and 1 cup shredded cheddar in place of the 1 lb mozzarella. The sauce had a wonderful flavor and I would use it again for pasta (but the Slow Cooker Spinach Marinara from this site is my favorite). My husband commented that it was a little too saucy and could've used the addition of mushrooms and more cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMILY052005

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
I made 6 9x13 pans of this for a dinner of about 30 people. I got so many compliments! It was easy to assemble and with the basic ingredients, it appealed to everyone. I did substitute ground turkey for the beef since we don't eat red meat but it did not affect the taste - obviously because no one else knew about the switch!! I'll make this for my family next time it's lasagna night!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Spindale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I made this for a family that I work for, tried it, and was blown away. VERY VERY GOOD. I might have put more seasonings in it, as I like my food very flavorful. It was perfect, am making it again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Like everyone else, I'm giving this recipe 5 stars. Both my husband and I loved this lasagna. It is by far the best lasagna we've had. The sauce isn't difficult to make but it's very tasty. The only thing I changed was substituting the cottage cheese with ricotta because I didn't have any cottage cheese on hand. This is my new lasagna recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 988) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Linda's Lasagna

See how to make a cheesy 5-star lasagna with ground beef.

Easy Lasagna II

This top-rated recipe is lasagna made simple.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States