Linda's Irish Shepherd's Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Sorry but not my favourite shep pie. I followed directions exactly. Other reviewers said beef consume was not included in directions, yes it is. I did find it a little runny after adding the liquids to the beef. I also found the directions a little scattered. Rather than dirty another pan, I'd recommend you drain the beef and set aside. Use the beef skillet to mix the liquids and then add the beef back in when it's time. This was a little bland for us and I prefer an addition of another veggie. Thanks anyways ERLENSEE_GERMANY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
this is a great recipe. I have never had a shepherd's pie that was so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soquel
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I followed this recipe ALMOST exactly.. .Only differences is I added one of those little beef flavor enhancer packets with the ground beef.. added more garlic...but the biggest, most important change, Is I added a bag of frozen mixed vegetables..I can't even imagine it without them.. I used all organic products and grass fed, organic beef.. So it became a little more pricey..but it is definitely an easy and affordable recipe...My boyfriend loved it.. and with the changes it will definitely be a keeper on our menu..Thank you for the recipe.. Never made this before.. and honestly thought it sounded gross (not your recipe, just the meal in general) ..but its what the boyfriend wanted... Glad he did! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soquel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This is fantastic although I do make a few changes. I use McCormick brown gravy & add, 1 cup of beef broth instead of water, then add that to the beef. I use a mixture of monterey jack & cheddar cheese. I also make the mashed potatoes the day before for another recipe-only using red potatoes,1/2 light cream & 1/2 milk, butter, salt & pepper. A little richer, but we love it. Good luck foodies:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Greenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I followed the recipe exactly as it's given and the meat mixture came out way too soupy and no amount of simmering would thicken it, ending up with a soupy mess. IF I make this recipe again, I would definately use much less liquid and add peas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I made a vegetarian version, because one of my kids is vegetarian. It works really well. Simply omit the beef, and use water instead of consommé. I also used more cheese than is called for. Excellent, very adaptable recipe. Well-written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
The Irish call Cottage Pie Shepherd's pie, and they bung any kind of meat in it, although a traditional Shepherd's Pie is made with lamb and a Cottage Pie with beef. Nuff said. I'm just rating this on the basis of the recipe. It needs peas and carrots big time, and I'd leave out the part with the flour, margarine, ketchup, consomme and especially the browning sauce, you shouldn't need it. Use the consomme (or beef stock) by all means, and a touch of flour to thicken, but I normally simmer everything until the sauce thickens, it's very important not to have too much moisture in the filling, as it'll rise to the top while cooking and ruin the mashed spuds. Use a bit of tomato puree and some herbs if you're feeling adventurous, I use thyme, rosemary and parsley, but they aren't everyone's cup of tea, so use accordingly, and don't forget the Worcester sauce (ONLY from Lea and Perrins!!!) and a teaspoonful of COLEMAN'S!!! powdered mustard in the sauce, now you're cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
Definite comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Great recipe, pretty easy, and was great as leftovers. My boyfriend ate it 4 days afterwards and it was still good. Thank you for this recipe, is one I will keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I made this for my father-in-law who is from England and he said it was the best he ever had. I agree! How flavorful. Made another suggested recipe. Not even close to the awesomeness of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Irish Shepherd’s Pie

See how to make an amazing shepherd’s pie with a special Irish twist.

Shortcut Shepherd's Pie

See how to make a shortcut shepherd’s pie with leftover beef.

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States