Linda's Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2013
Many years ago I had a similar recipe but instead of the hot sauce that recipe called for horseradish. It was wonderful and I suggest it be substituted for the hot sauce in Linda's recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This recipe gives the best combination of ingredients. I was attracted to it because it includes buttermilk and sour cream. I made just as the recipe was written. What a hit with our fresh salad last night. Everyone enjoyed it! Next time I may use fresh parsley and garlic (instead of the garlic powder). You can always make it lower calorie by using light sour cream and mayonnaise. But this is now MY Blue Cheese Dressing recipe. No need to look any further!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MWT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smithfield, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I was after a Blue Cheese Sauce for some Buffalo Chicken Wings. This recipe appealed to me for its combination of mayonnaise, sour cream and buttermilk. I eased up on the buttermilk only because I wanted a thicker dipping sauce for the wings. What's left I'll thin out with more buttermilk for salad dressing. I eased up on the Worcestershire, using only half the amount called for, and chose fresh parsley and garlic over the dried parsley and garlic powder, tho' I don't think it's a big deal one way or the other. Bottom line is, I loved this stuff. (No comment from Hubs who'd rather have a root canal than eat Blue cheese)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
Ok flavor I doctored it up after following to a tee. Oh what kind of hot sauce would be helpful. I used Franks red hot. Very runny I would reduce the buttermilk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
I have been looking for a blue cheese dressing that tasted like what is served at Champps Restaurant and this is SOOOO close. This is easy to make and is delicious! One warning though ... it's addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Whitehall, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I used this dressing to make Buffalo Chicken Paninis. I realized I was out of worcestershire sauce so substituted red wine vinegar and a dash of fish sauce. It was delicious and thickened up nicely after sitting for a while in the refrigerator. I cut the recipe down to 1/4 and will keep a batch of this in the refrigerator from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I wasn't crazy about this. It is certainly better than storebought (hooray for no chemicals) but as a blue cheese salad dressing, this wasn't the taste I was looking for. I think it would probably be a great dip though, with the spicy-ish additions. Just not what we wanted for topping lettuce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Good flavor but way too RUNNY! Maybe cut the buttermilk down to 1/2 cup or less?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I had some blue cheese that needed using up so I picked this recipe to try out. I left out the parm thinking the blue cheese I had was a bit strong and didn't need it. Also left out the parsley mainly because I've never seen it in any commercial Blue Cheese Dressing I've ever purchased. I also cut back just a little on the hot pepper sauce as suggested by other reviewers especially since I was having Buffalo Wings. The finished dressing was creamy and delicious! It went great with the Buffalo Wings and was even better the next day on a green dinner salad once the ingredients melded a bit more. 4 stars because of the omissions but definitely 5 star flavor! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by judybug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Yummy and so easy! Used low fat sour cream, low fat mayo made with olive oil, and loved the tangyness of the buttermilk. I did half the recipe...makes a lot. I did omit the parm and parsely and added fresh cracked pepper. Served with Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches from this site. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

How to Make Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make creamy homemade blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States