Linda's Awesome Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is a great recipe but if you want a more fudgey, chocolatey brownie use 3 eggs instead of four and use 1 cup of flour instead of 1 1/2. The more eggs you use, the more cake-like your brownies will be and the more flour you use, the less chocolatey they will taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
I followed the recipe to a 'T'...read the reviews first and the repeating responses of not chocolatey or sweet enough but decided to follow exactly and could always add a frosting if not sweet enough. I gave a '4' rating because of ease of presentation, just the right size for a 9x13 pan, they baked up beautifully in my oven for 28 minutes(just until they started to pull away from the sides of the pan), and there were no scorches, burns, and very evenly baked. The texture is somewhere between cakey and fudgey so I think they would be suitable to please everyone on both ends of the sprectrum. The color is not a deep chocolate color so do agree they need more chocolate, and they are not really sweet enough. I am going to finish these off with a frosting and they will be lovely. I did add a bunch of chopped walnuts to the batter but kept everything else the same. They would be better if a bit more chocolate and sugar were in the recipe. I'm still searching for a really fudgey rich brownie like my friend Joan used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2007
These are some of the best brownies I have eaten. I have tried many different recipes but they never seem to be the right consistency of fudgy/cakey. These are perfect. The joke amongst my friends and I is that you can't have just one. It is unfortunately true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
These are awesome! My family attacked them right out of the oven. I used 3 tablespoons cocoa to 1 tablespoon canola oil as a substitute for each choc. square. Super fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I made a few changes, and out came the BEST brownies: Used 8oz dark chocolate (70%) Used 1cup dark brown sugar with 1cup white sugar. I mixed the eggs with both sugars until almost double the volume, then added the vanilla, chocolate mixture, and finally the flour mixture. Baked for 30 min in a pan lined with parchment paper, and it came out just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
I halved the recipe and cooked in an 8"x8" pan...the results were amazing! I confess to eating most of the brownies myself instead of the house guests they were meant for. They made great brownie sundaes and held up well in packed lunches (mine, of course). I wouldn't put frosting on them...they were great as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
If I could give this more than a five star rating, I would' Absolutely one of the best brownie recipes ever. Added 2 T cocoa powder, a bit more semisweet chocolate, and walnuts. Had to make twice within 12 hours for family. What a hit' Thanks'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2003
These are delicious! Great warm with powdered sugar on top with vanilla ice cream. Instead of using chocolate squares I used 3 tablespoons plus one of vegetable oil of unsweetened cocoa for one square. Add an extra tablespoon of cocoa at the end for a more chocolatey taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
I just made these brownies for a dinner party and they were disappointing. They are very cakee and not chocolaty. I thought they where a 2 but everyone else gave them a 3. I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I took PamMar's suggestion and used three eggs and cut back the flour to one cup. I really wanted them to pack a chocolate punch so I used 4 ounces Scharffen Berger unsweetened DARK chocolate (you can find this brand at any Giant Eagle) and added a half cup or so of mini chocolate chips. I baked these in my Perfect Brownie Pan--thirty minutes at 350* was.......perfect. They turned out fudge-y and just over the top delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Fudge Brownies

See how to make 5-star flour-free fudge brownies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States