Linda Sue's Chocolate Cake (Vegan) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a great recipe! Very dark, rich, and flavorful, with a semi-dense texture. I didn't have milk and was low on eggs, so I made this cake and it tastes very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Silver Buttons

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
Delicious! I used Turbinado sugar instead of white, coconut oil instead of canola, and white distilled vinegar instead of acv. I'm not vegan but my husband and daughter is and we all loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvNZoey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Yummy! This cake is really good, and I would recommend you to make it. It is good, and Vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I hated it to be honest. It was too moist and I think the vinegar ruined it. I refused to eat it after my first bite. The only reason I didn't give it 1 star is because my friend actually thought it was ok .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Turned out great and was easy to make. Made this for a co-worker's farewell party who is vegan and even the non-vegans enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I did not care for this. I made this following the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
My mother inlaw Alice was alergic to eggs and egg producks she also use to make this cake,I am making this recipe followed instruction to the letter ,tasted the batter and there is no vinegar taste but i mixed all the liquid ingrediants in a separte bowl and added to dry ingediants a little at a time beating well with a whisk between additions.Batter is smooth and dark.Baked the cake it is high and smells great.I think for those who said it taste like vinegar the trick is to mix the liguid ingrediants.I am going to ice this cake with nutriwhip which is a milk free oil based whip cream that need to be beaten and top it with fresh fruit. One thing i did notice it took almost an hour to cook. Hope my vegan friend likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val Layton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I used cupcakes form. Great taste, right texture. Would never tell its vegan, no smell of vinegar. Second time, I made it with raisins, then walnuts. Highly recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
I turned it into cupcakes. Followed the recipe precisely. But used a cupcakes form. Tried it 3 times. Tasted great. I have added cranberries, blueberries (turned out a bit too moist), raisins and walnuts, i mean the options are great. Perfect texture, great taste (did you say vinegar?). Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States