Limehouse Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
I used red pepper instead of paprika simply because I didn't have it. I also didn't have the wine or mint but it was still PERFECT. It was spicy sweet and citrus all at the same time. My husband even said it was worth the wait, which is REALLY good. Definitely my new favorite chicken!!! Today I again tried this recipe but with pork chops, STILL AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hastings, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I love this recipe the way it was written and my five stars are for that! (If you don't like recipe changes, just stop reading now.) However, should you go to make one evening and find yourself without any limes, try these tweaks: 1 tangerine (or clementine, etc.) zested and juiced 1 T jerk seasoning (instead of paprika) 2 T white sugar (instead of brown) 1T red pepper flakes (instead of mint) You'll still get the delicious crunch and citrus zing, but with a hint of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstabler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I followed the recipe until the mint. I added cilantro instead. It is awesome! I really like the flavors, sweet, smoky, lemony. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilmany64

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Allen, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
this was great. i had thinner chicken breasts so i baked only for 25 minutes instead of 45, and they came out incredibly tender. i threw some broccoli and orange peppers in with the broth and wine too. The orange/yellow peppers really gave it an authentic taste and look. definitely adding my arsenal of recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Peekskill, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
It was very good. I made a couple of changes though, I replaced the lime with lemon and i put a little more chicken broth and more brown sugar than it called for other than that it was GREAT! A+++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Would not make again - mint makes it interesting but in a distracting way. Would make the KEY WEST chicken on the website over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I was not expecting much from this dish but I was very pleased with how it turned out! The sweetness was nice and cut through by the lime, and the breading and baking techniques kept the chicken moist. I served this with steamed vegetables and rice and it was an easy weeknight meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Made this pretty much as described, though I only had an orange and used that instead! Also put a tiny bit of ginger into the flour/paprika mix (which I made with gluten-free flour, being celiac). It was still just fantastic; threw some sliced orange bell pepper into the skillet before popping it into the oven. Delicious, and my husband especially liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightingaleJen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2006
My Family loved this. The chicken thighs were so tender and flavorful. I followed the instructions perfectly and they were wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This is a good recipe. I substituted sweet basil for the mint and added cilantro to counter the sweetness of the brown sugar. All in all...definitely thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SierraFishinGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Lake Arrowhead, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

The Ultimate Roast Chicken

Learn a great trick for getting incredibly delicious roast chicken.

Chicken with 20 Cloves of Garlic

See how to make baked chicken in a pungent garlic sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States