Limeade Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2000
A great easy summertime dessert - light and good. Know that the lemonade would be just as good. Try a chocolate crumb crust sometime for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
My family thought this was much too strongly flavored. We added another whipped topping on top and it was ok. If I did it again, I would add 2 containers of whipped topping and make 2 pies, would have a lime-chiffon type flavor then.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This has a good flavor - like Key Lime Pie, but it was just a little too strong/sweet like the other review said. Definitely a summertime dessert .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
I agree that this is much too sweet/strong this way. I've been making a similar pie for years, but I add an 8 oz pkg of softened cream cheese. Works just as well with lemonade concentrate also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This was a super easy, tasty dessert. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was because it was a little too sweet for me. The texture of this frozen pie is very nice. It doesn't freeze up as hard as other recipes I have made before. It stays somewhat soft, which I appreciated. I always toast graham cracker crusts in the oven at 400 degrees for about 8 minutes to make them taste fresher. I also made this recipe using frozen raspberry lemonade concentrate instead and mixed in a few frozen raspberries. That was also quite nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Flower Fan
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Delicious! I made it as written... except I added one softened 8 oz. cream cheese. I was then able to make 2 pies. One 9 inch w/ home made crust and one 9 inch store bought crust (that I happened to have on hand!) One note of caution for those using store bought crusts. Even though they say 9 inches, I have found that these have a much smaller 'filling' capacity than if you make your own in a 9 inch pan. As a result, you may end up with more filling than crust - and, a much smaller pie/serving amount. I was even able to fit the entire 9 inch store bought crust into my 9 inch oven pan (and still had room in it). I also had a leftover lime (from some coronas over the weekend!) that I took and thinly sliced and used as a garnish over the pies. Hope this is helpful to everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Flower Fan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
My Mom introduced us to this recipe in the 70's. She made it on every major holiday, However she cut the limeade to 2/3 and also only used 2/3 of the whipped topping. She also added a few drops of green food coloring for show it gave the pie a pretty color. She would then take the remaining whipped topping and add it to the chilled pie before serving. Cutting back on the limeade it is not as strong, very light but DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
thank you, easy great pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
We've made this pie in my family for years! A tip-- get the "two extra servings" size pie crust-- or double the filling and use three crusts. We've used limeade, lemonade, pink lemonade, orange juice, pina colada frozen concentrare mix... any citrus-y juice concentrate will work great! I like the orange juice pice best with a chocolate crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Wonderful - I used frozen orange juice concentrate because I didnt have Limeade on hand - was a bit sweet, but thats what desserts are about! :) thanks Melissa I cant wait to try other concentrates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheila

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States