Lime Spareribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
This recipe was quick, easy, and a great crowd pleaser! It also works well cooked in a slow cooker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
This is a tasty change of pace after bbq'ing all summer. I used baby back pork ribs, then followed the recipe, using my oven. The recipe doesn't say to do so, but I covered them with tin foil, uncovering the last 15 minutes, when I basted. The end result was not only tender and tasty, but made for a very pretty presentation worthy of any self=respecting bones joint! I noted other comments citing 'sour' tasting. I use only key limes in cooking, as they're not as tart as regular limes. 1 keylime = 1 Tbl! Also, if you don't care for foods on the spicy side, use only half the chili sauce. Being from Texas, I added a generous squirt! Kudos, Christine. 2 finger-lickin' thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
This was really good! We used beef ribs instead of pork and it turned out just fine. The lime gives a great flavor. It was a little sour for me, so I think I'm going to experiment in the future with adding brown sugar, more honey, or maple syrup! (if we had kids i'm sure they'd like it)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2001
My family really enjoyed these ribs, especially my 7 year old son. They were so simple to make. The only thing I'd do different next time is to put them in a cooking bag to make them more tender, then they're self basting. These were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Schaumburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2000
The Lime Spareribs have got to be the very best yet! As my Husband does not like sweet on any meat - these hit him perfectly and instead of doing them in our oven, I did them on our outside grill - WOW - were they wonderful - and so thought our great-nephew, he loved them too (he's 9)! These ribs just fell off the bones! Ms. Johnson you did us a favor on these! Thank you! Linda Wolf, married to a Chef in Las Vegas (and they're hard to please)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2004
My family gave this a 3. I agree it was okay not outstanding. The recipe when printed does not tell you what to do with the olive oil. I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2002
A little bit sour but it's ok. I thought that I will try to use less lime juice next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
Absolutely delicious!!! The lime just adds a wonderful zip! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
This is a great recipe, and called for ingredients I had on hand. (Except I used canned mushrooms instead of fresh, and adobo sauce instead of chili sauce.) I also liked the quick prep time. My husband took a second helping of mashed potatoes just so he could eat more sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middlebury, Indiana, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2005
My sister and my very picky cousin loves this simple recipe, I just thought it was okay. The good part is it makes a lot of sauce so you can use it as a gravy for a side of mashed potatoes. The taste is kindda sour not really sweet (after all they're called lime spareribs). Good overall recipe, thanks Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crunchy Coconut and Lime Burgers

What's cooking in South Jersey? The Messy Cook's tropical burgers.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States