Lime Spareribs Recipe - Allrecipes.com
  • READY IN hrs

Lime Spareribs

Recipe by  

"A honey mustard lime sauce coats these baked ribs. Scrumptious! When determining the number of servings, take into account the fact that most people actually like to have a rack of ribs to themselves. Accordingly, 4 pounds of spareribs might serve 4 or 6 people, depending on the serving size!"

Back
Next
+ Recipe Box + Shopping List + Menu Print

Ingredients Edit and Save

Original recipe makes 8 servings Change Servings
ADVERTISEMENT
  • PREP

    15 mins
  • COOK

    1 hr
  • READY IN

    1 hr 15 mins

Directions

  1. Cut ribs into serving size pieces and place in a 9x13 inch baking dish. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
  2. In a medium saucepan saute onion, garlic and mushrooms in oil until tender. Add vinegar, honey, lime juice, mustard, salt, pepper, soy sauce, water and chili sauce and mix together well. Warm mixture throughout.
  3. Pour this sauce over the ribs and bake in the preheated oven for 1 hour or until ribs are tender and internal temperature has reached 160 degrees F (70 degrees C). Baste often with sauce.
Kitchen-Friendly View
ADVERTISEMENT

Reviews More Reviews

Most Helpful Positive Review
Dec 18, 2003

This recipe was quick, easy, and a great crowd pleaser! It also works well cooked in a slow cooker!

 
Most Helpful Critical Review
Dec 23, 2004

My family gave this a 3. I agree it was okay not outstanding. The recipe when printed does not tell you what to do with the olive oil. I would not make again.

 
Jul 14, 2003

This is a tasty change of pace after bbq'ing all summer. I used baby back pork ribs, then followed the recipe, using my oven. The recipe doesn't say to do so, but I covered them with tin foil, uncovering the last 15 minutes, when I basted. The end result was not only tender and tasty, but made for a very pretty presentation worthy of any self=respecting bones joint! I noted other comments citing 'sour' tasting. I use only key limes in cooking, as they're not as tart as regular limes. 1 keylime = 1 Tbl! Also, if you don't care for foods on the spicy side, use only half the chili sauce. Being from Texas, I added a generous squirt! Kudos, Christine. 2 finger-lickin' thumbs up!

 
Jul 14, 2003

This was really good! We used beef ribs instead of pork and it turned out just fine. The lime gives a great flavor. It was a little sour for me, so I think I'm going to experiment in the future with adding brown sugar, more honey, or maple syrup! (if we had kids i'm sure they'd like it)

 
Jul 13, 2003

My family really enjoyed these ribs, especially my 7 year old son. They were so simple to make. The only thing I'd do different next time is to put them in a cooking bag to make them more tender, then they're self basting. These were great!

 
Jul 13, 2003

The Lime Spareribs have got to be the very best yet! As my Husband does not like sweet on any meat - these hit him perfectly and instead of doing them in our oven, I did them on our outside grill - WOW - were they wonderful - and so thought our great-nephew, he loved them too (he's 9)! These ribs just fell off the bones! Ms. Johnson you did us a favor on these! Thank you! Linda Wolf, married to a Chef in Las Vegas (and they're hard to please)!

 
Mar 03, 2003

A little bit sour but it's ok. I thought that I will try to use less lime juice next time.

 
Jul 13, 2003

Absolutely delicious!!! The lime just adds a wonderful zip! Yum!!!

 

Rate This Recipe

Glad you liked it! Your friends will, too:
ADVERTISEMENT

Nutrition

  • Calories
  • 725 kcal
  • 36%
  • Carbohydrates
  • 8.7 g
  • 3%
  • Cholesterol
  • 181 mg
  • 60%
  • Fat
  • 60 g
  • 92%
  • Fiber
  • 0.6 g
  • 2%
  • Protein
  • 36.4 g
  • 73%
  • Sodium
  • 1240 mg
  • 50%

* Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.

See More

About the Cook

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Key Lime Pie VII

Use fresh key lime juice if you can, as it adds the biggest flavor.

Easy Key Lime Pie I

See how to make a quick-and-easy, award-winning key lime pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States