Lime Pineapple Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
This is really a preserves recipe rather than a jam. The flavor and color is excellent. I used a food processor to chop the fruit and doubled the recipe. I found that 3 good-sized pineapples made 8 cups of finely chopped pulp and it still thickened with 40 minutes of boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
I was a little disappointed in the consistency after the first 40 minutes of cooking...I had to continue to cook another 40 minutes in order to reach jelly stage, because I like a firmer jam than this one yielded. The flavor was very good but the fresh flavor disappeared after the lengthy cooking time. The lime came through nicely, but I will make with canned, crushed pineapple in the future as that is more economical. Recipe yielded 3 half-pints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
I cut this recipe in half and used canned pineapple chunks, which I chopped in the blender. It is DELICIOUS!! I saw a similar recipe years ago in Martha Stewart mag and lost it! So happy to have this! Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
sooooo good! easy to make as well... it cooked for longer than it took to prep. mine made three half-pint jars of lovely sweet, tart, unusual, potent preserves. you can just cook it down to whatever consistency you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faeriecat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2009
The taste is unbelievable - buttery and juicy. I'm going to make English Muffins tomorrow morning to celebrate. I think the quote in the description of this is perfect: "a taste of sunshine." The lime does add the buttery flavor but if you don't have it, you probably can make this without. Just try to use fresh, ripe ripe ripe pineapple for a good flavor. I tried this recipe because I had half a pineapple to use up and I found that one big pineapple will make just over 3 cups. This is more of a spread or preserves...not jam. I think you could make jam using the method for "Sparkling Holiday Jam" on this site, you'd only need to add 1 package fruit pectin. That recipe has you heat everything but the sugar till it reaches a rolling boil. Stir in sugar and return to boil, cook for 1 minute and remove from heat then can as you normally would. I would reduce the juice some, if doing this, since pineapple is very juicy already. Update: This keeps well for a long time in the freezer or fridge. It's become my all time favorite spread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
I really wanted to love this after reading the other reviews. However, the batch I made did not live up to the "sunshine in a jar" or "buttery" billing. Although I only cooked mine 35 minutes, it may have been too long because it became very sticky and thick...not spreadable the next morning after refrigeration. (Almost like the candied fruit in Christmas fruitcake.) The flavor was pretty good so I may try again since others had better luck than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Oh,, so delicious. I have made several double batches to sell at a church Christmas bazaar. I plan to serve it over cream cheese for prospective buyers to taste. I know it will be a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Living In: Monkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
Great as is. I added 1 minced serrano pepper, 1tsp red pepper flake, 1/4tsp salt. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Easy and tasty! At the farmer's market, just before closing, there was a stand trying to get rid of their pineapples - 5 for $5! I figured I could find SOMETHING to do with them. I found this recipe and chopped up 4 of the pineapples. I probably used 3-4 limes (I squeeze the heck out of them with my potato ricer!) Now we have lots of great lime pineapple jam for the winter. It's great on toast. I'd love to try it in cakes, cookies, pastries too - I think it would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
So very good! Probably didn't hurt that I was able to use a fresh pineapple and lime from the backyard (we live in Costa Rica) very easy and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States