Lime Glazed Leg of Lamb Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I don't have a grill so I cooked this in the oven, basted it frequently and reduced the remaining limeade mixture to serve as a sauce over the lamb. It was very tender and flavorful, and I did really like the lime flavor, but the limeade was too sugary for me and my husband. I think next time I make this I will use lime juice and a little bit of honey instead of the limeade, but I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I have never cooked lamb before and took the plunge for our Greek themed Christmas feast this year. This recipe was perfect and we cooked it on our spit. I marinated the lamb in the limeade and other ingredients for 24 hours before placing on the spit then basted with a fresh batch of limeade mixture. We will be having lamb more often now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
This recipe was just okay. Leg of lamb is expensive in my part of the world so when I cook it, I want a surefire showstopper type of recipe. This wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Jenna, a crock pot is for cheap cuts that need to be slow cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
This recipe was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Lambart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
Instead of making this on the grill, I broiled it in the oven on a low broiler setting. Although it did smell good, I didn't care for the thyme in the baste. Next time I will reduce the amount of thyme or use rosemary instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mavis Tobin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Southington, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I made this in my crock pot instead of on the grill - same ingredients for the glaze, just pour it over the meat, then occasionally spooned over the meat as it cooks. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I guess I've got to be different with my review, but I thought this was simply an OK recipe. Because of the weather, I didn't grill it out, but I'm not sure I would have anyway...the glaze simply wasn't robust enough to hold up to a charcoal fire. I will make this again, but I'll use the glaze for an overnight marinade and see if that gives me a bit more of a lime flavor. I was actually looking for something I could serve with more Caribbean-influenced foods since I do a lot of lamb that leans to the Mediterranean side of the world and needed something different. I did cook it to medium-rare (30 minutes/pound) and it was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
HUGE hit! I made this for Mother's Day and the platter was literally wiped clean. I prefer lamb on the rare side but for those that didn't I just zapped their serving in the microwave and everybody was happy. We will definitly have this again. I think I will try the glaze on lamb chops too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
Were I am lamb is so expensive that this recipe does not rate a repeat. It was okay if you have lamb and are trying to find ways of cooking it. I had a "roast" that I cut in half to cook. Took well over the alloted time. Ended up putting this in the microwave so we could finally eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Leg of Lamb with Balsamic-Fig Sauce

An impressive roasted leg of lamb served with a rich balsamic-fig sauce.

How to Make Roast Leg of Lamb

See how to season and roast a juicy, tender leg of lamb.

Roast Leg of Lamb with Rosemary

See how to make a simple, sensational roast leg of lamb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States