Lime Gelatin Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This is a wonderful salad. I made it for the family Christmas buffet and added a layer of red jello to the top for a festive look. It will be a new family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Took this to a Christmas get together on my hubby's side & it was a complete hit! Mother in law even asked for recipe as well as 2 others. We served it with the meal, and some chose it for dessert too, (over pumpkin pie). My grandma makes a variation of this with marshmallows, but I prefer this recipe. I recommend it setting overnight for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I've been searching all my cookbooks for this recipe - my grandmother always made this for holiday meals, and I'm so happy to have found it! I found that the gelatin sets up too firmly if left for an hour - 1/2 hour is adequate. Also, I used only a little more than half of the whipping cream and it turned out fine. Molds beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good. Fist time making I thought the prep directions were more than needed to do. So the second time I made it, I dissolved the jello in the hot water, added the cream cheese and beat with mixer. Added the pineapple with juice, and 1/2 cup pecan pieces. Then I folded in the whipped whipping cream. This way it was more simple to prepare and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This has been a tradition at our holiday for years. We leave out the pecans, don't heat the pineapple (our recipe didn't call for that) and sometimes don't whip the cream when short on time. Still turns out great! Oh and an immersion hand blender works beautifully when the jello sets up a little faster than you expected. My husband doesn't like pineapple, so I made him a cherry version. Subbed two 4 oz. boxes of sugar-free black cherry jello, upped the boiling water to 1-1/2 c. and added chopped fresh bing cherries. Yum! Could even add chopped almonds to compliment the cherries. Next? Strawberry-banana walnut? The possibilities are up to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBUNNUMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
When I first made this recipe, I taste-tested it before wanting to serve it with Thanksgiving dinner. When I came to my senses, I realized that I had taste-tested 1/3 of the bowl! Wonderful stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
It was really good, just like the kind at Luby's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I came across this recipe a couple years back while looking for something similar it has been a huge hit with Thanksgiving and Christmas..When I ask my Mother and sister what they want me to bring for dessert its always Lime Gelatin Salad..WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMDAD4KIDDIES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Very delicious! Although, I would put a small amount aside without nuts for kids. Lots of kids hate nuts. Oh, and if you double this recipe be prepared for a lot!! Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Maraschino cherries are a must... they add a beautiful color that's especially nice at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States