Lime Gelatin Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2000
Very delicious! Although, I would put a small amount aside without nuts for kids. Lots of kids hate nuts. Oh, and if you double this recipe be prepared for a lot!! Chris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2000
When I first made this recipe, I taste-tested it before wanting to serve it with Thanksgiving dinner. When I came to my senses, I realized that I had taste-tested 1/3 of the bowl! Wonderful stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2000
Thank you for this recipe. My Aunt used to make this for every family gathering when I was young. Until now no one in the family could remember how to make it. It it now a staple at all family gatherings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
This is a wonderful salad. I made it for the family Christmas buffet and added a layer of red jello to the top for a festive look. It will be a new family tradition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
I came across this recipe a couple years back while looking for something similar it has been a huge hit with Thanksgiving and Christmas..When I ask my Mother and sister what they want me to bring for dessert its always Lime Gelatin Salad..WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMDAD4KIDDIES

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
It was really good, just like the kind at Luby's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
This was good, but not as flavorful as it sounds. I could hardly taste the cream cheese...but you can't hardly go wrong with cranberry, cream cheese, pineapple, and nuts all in one dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
I've been searching all my cookbooks for this recipe - my grandmother always made this for holiday meals, and I'm so happy to have found it! I found that the gelatin sets up too firmly if left for an hour - 1/2 hour is adequate. Also, I used only a little more than half of the whipping cream and it turned out fine. Molds beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
I just took this to a potluck today. My 10-yr old daughter made it and we weren't able to bring any of it home! She elected to not include the nuts. I wouldn't have minded the nuts, but who am I to disagree with a cook-in-the-making?! Just like the other reviewer, we found that it needed only one-half hour to set. We previously tried an hour and it was too hard so the kids got some jello jigglers instead from that batch. We had trouble dissolving the gelatin, but it really didn't matter much once it was blended with the cream cheese. The best part of this recipe is the combination with REAL whipped cream instead of the typical Cool Whip. It will definitely be added to our favorite jello salad recipes. Thanks for posting! Next time I will try using orange gelatin because I also love the orange/pineapple combination, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeJewel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
S.O.S. I am hosting my first Thanksgiving dinner and am a little stummped!! I know that this is NOT an open forum, but would love anyone to respond as far as categorizing this recipe as a side dish or dessert! It sounds wonderful, but not sure when to serve it!! Thank you! MRSKKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States