Lime Gelatin Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Great recipe. I made a few changes for people watching their carbs. I used sugar free Jello, used half the amount of pineapple and juice (made up the liquid in water -- it was still plenty sweet. Used walnuts because that's the kind of nuts I had. We loved it, and it was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is a perfect recipe for Homestuckers looking for a good Sopor Slime recipe! And this is someone who literally spent months looking for a good sopor recipe that gave the opaque-ness and color of sopor in the comic and still tasted good. When I first tried it I didn't have any lime (only lemon) jello and no whipping cream. Even then, it turned out great with a little bit of improvised coffee creamer and milk! My second attempt was with Green Apple Jolly Rancher jello. The flavor of the pineapple juice (I didn't add the pecans or the solid pineapples to keep the aesthetic, I also added a bit of green food coloring) combined with the green apple jello is very unique and a perfect mix! Next time I plan on making it in a pre-crusted pie tin for Sopor Pie and maybe also use some sort of mold to make them into little snackables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I lightened this recipe up by subbing 2 pkgs SF lime jello, FF cool whip, and reduced fat cream cheese (and only used 6 oz.) I didn't understand why you needed to boil the pineapple in it's juice, so I omitted that step. I used walnuts instead of pecans, because that's what I had on hand. I've made similar salads like this in the past, they are delicious, but more of a dessert than a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is the fifth or sixth year I have been making this recipe and we love it. It is one of the things that my family asks for every single Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
delicious!! I make this every year during the holidays... friends & family always say "oh noooo, not that green thing again," but it's always the first dish to be finished! I add walnuts instead of pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I have loved this recipe since I was 3 yrs old (so 42 yrs.) As an adult I call it "Big Spoon Salad" because I'll keep returning to the fridge with a big spoon (tablespoon ) and get a spoonful at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I love this recipe, though I add small curd cottage cheese and eliminate the nuts (kids tend not to like them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This has been a tradition at our holiday for years. We leave out the pecans, don't heat the pineapple (our recipe didn't call for that) and sometimes don't whip the cream when short on time. Still turns out great! Oh and an immersion hand blender works beautifully when the jello sets up a little faster than you expected. My husband doesn't like pineapple, so I made him a cherry version. Subbed two 4 oz. boxes of sugar-free black cherry jello, upped the boiling water to 1-1/2 c. and added chopped fresh bing cherries. Yum! Could even add chopped almonds to compliment the cherries. Next? Strawberry-banana walnut? The possibilities are up to you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBUNNUMS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Very good. Fist time making I thought the prep directions were more than needed to do. So the second time I made it, I dissolved the jello in the hot water, added the cream cheese and beat with mixer. Added the pineapple with juice, and 1/2 cup pecan pieces. Then I folded in the whipped whipping cream. This way it was more simple to prepare and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
It looks kinda gross but it's D E L I C I O U S
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States