Lime-Curry Tofu Stir-fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This recipe is very good and can be used with a variety of vegetables. But I made one significant change: I strongly recommend that you use fish sauce rather than soy sauce, if you can find it. I believe it is called nuoc mam in Vietnam, and nam pla in Thailand; those with expertise please feel free to correct me. Fish sauce gives the curry a characteristic flavor and aroma like what you find in Thai restaurant curries. IMHO soy sauce muddies the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Great recipe - but not quite perfect. To avoid frying my tofu, I marinated it in the soy sauce, maple syrup and lime juice for about an hour and a half, and then baked for an hour at about 325 degrees, turning over once halfway through. (Sounds excessive, I know, but it totally transforms the tofu - makes it chewier and more flavorful.) Since I wasn't frying the tofu, I only used one tablespoon of oil. I used lite coconut milk and it was fine. I somehow managed to resist the incredibly strong urge to use fish sauce instead of soy sauce, figuring that (at least the first time) I should trust the recipe author; next time, I'll save my willpower for something with chocolate in it. Although the soy sauce was totally fine, fish sauce would be better. And I'm looking forward to adding a greater variety of veggies. Still, this was a really good, simple recipe, and my favorite use to date of curry paste! Thanks so much! EDIT: The second time I made this, I tried it with all fish sauce. DON'T DO IT. It's too much. I had to throw the marinade away and start over. 2 T of soy sauce and 1 T of fish sauce seems to be about right; a pinch of salt really livens things up. Still a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This dish was really tasty. I cooked for my steak and potatoes fiance (who hates bell peppers) and he loved it. We are trying to get healthier and slimmer for our wedding and this fit the bill. I would add 1 1/2 tablespoon more of the curry paste and 1 tablespoon more of the ginger. Also, I would use only 3/4 of a pound of zucchini and add a fresh diced tomato. Otherwise, this was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happychef211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This dish was really flavorful--sweet and sour, it's the perfect non-spicy Thai dish. The one thing I would add is that it works really well served over brown rice. On its own, the stir fry can be a little too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicious. I did substitute fish sauce for the soy sauce. This was the first time I had used fish sauce, and I think it made a huge difference in the flavor of the curry. Other than that, I didn't change much. I thought the basil was a little heavy, but the hubby disagreed and said he wanted more, so I guess this was a good compromise. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a super easy curry to make!! The only thing I did differently was I added only 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and 2 tablespoons of fish sauce. You need the fish sauce to give it that authentic thai flavor. I also added garlic and green onions with the ginger. I will definitely make this again!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Amazing! This is easily one of my new favs! I fried the tofu up with garlic, ginger and a dash of soya sauce. Also added garlic to the recipe, and did sub in fish sauce which I think made a huge difference... My boyfriend does not like seafood, but doesn't even notice a fish taste at all. The end result was delicious, and I have a feeling I am going to be making this a lot more! Thank-you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKYBJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Yum! Yum! and more Yum! I basicly followed the recipe with just a few alterations. I only had 1/2 of a large red bell pepper. I think one whole, as the recipe states, really is necessary. My tofu was just 12 oz. but was fine.I used 1 tbsp. of peanut oil and 1 tbsp of red chili oil for some spice. That was a perfect amount for us.Changed out soy for fish as recommended by others to make the sauce more authentic Thai. Topped with scallion onions. This is now my favorite red curry recipe! Thank you, kprzy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by FoodByLauren.blogspot.com
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
GREAT recipe-- this was delicious. A few changes: 1) I used string beans instead of bell pepper because that's what I had on hand. 2) I also used cilantro instead of basil, and 3) I minced a couple cloves of garlic and stir-fried it along with the ginger and curry paste. I make coconut/curry stir fries a lot, and I never thought to use zucchini. It worked so well with the flavors in this dish. I love the "soupy"-ness of this; it reminds me of the hot pots I've had at Thai/Malaysian restaurants. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren.blogspot.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Yum!! We really enjoyed this. I did marinate and bake the tofu first, and I subbed 2 T. of Thai fish sauce as suggested. I also used agave syrup instead of maple (and way less of it...maybe 2 tsp.). We didn't have any basil so I used cilantro instead, but not a ton of it (just a few leaves sprinkled over the top as a garnish). Oh, and I let the veggies simmer a little bit longer than the recipe instructs. The combination of flavors in this dish is excellent. I served in shallow bowls over brown rice, with plenty of the sauce for slurping. :) **Be sure to drain your tofu really well before chopping, and don't use any substitutions for the red curry paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSERS11581

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States