Lime-Curry Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This dish was really flavorful--sweet and sour, it's the perfect non-spicy Thai dish. The one thing I would add is that it works really well served over brown rice. On its own, the stir fry can be a little too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
This dish was really tasty. I cooked for my steak and potatoes fiance (who hates bell peppers) and he loved it. We are trying to get healthier and slimmer for our wedding and this fit the bill. I would add 1 1/2 tablespoon more of the curry paste and 1 tablespoon more of the ginger. Also, I would use only 3/4 of a pound of zucchini and add a fresh diced tomato. Otherwise, this was WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happychef211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodByLauren
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
GREAT recipe-- this was delicious. A few changes: 1) I used string beans instead of bell pepper because that's what I had on hand. 2) I also used cilantro instead of basil, and 3) I minced a couple cloves of garlic and stir-fried it along with the ginger and curry paste. I make coconut/curry stir fries a lot, and I never thought to use zucchini. It worked so well with the flavors in this dish. I love the "soupy"-ness of this; it reminds me of the hot pots I've had at Thai/Malaysian restaurants. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodByLauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
great recipe. i added a lot more vegetables though , like onions and mushrooms. and i didnt have red curry paste so i used green and it was SUPER SPICY. very soupy, i used some cornstarch and water to thicken it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Unbelievably yummy! The only change I made was to sauteed minced green onions and chopped garlic with the ginger. I love the maple syrup/lime juice in this! Don't skimp on the basil at the end. This will be a staple in my house for tofu or chicken or anything!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINELOVER813

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Porter Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This recipe is very good and can be used with a variety of vegetables. But I made one significant change: I strongly recommend that you use fish sauce rather than soy sauce, if you can find it. I believe it is called nuoc mam in Vietnam, and nam pla in Thailand; those with expertise please feel free to correct me. Fish sauce gives the curry a characteristic flavor and aroma like what you find in Thai restaurant curries. IMHO soy sauce muddies the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Amazing! This is easily one of my new favs! I fried the tofu up with garlic, ginger and a dash of soya sauce. Also added garlic to the recipe, and did sub in fish sauce which I think made a huge difference... My boyfriend does not like seafood, but doesn't even notice a fish taste at all. The end result was delicious, and I have a feeling I am going to be making this a lot more! Thank-you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKYBJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I really enjoyed this, not having much experience with curry. My husband, curry enthusiast, was less than enthusiastic about it. I did use lowfat coconut milk, which may have made the difference. I won't make it again, just because I'm the only one who really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicious. I did substitute fish sauce for the soy sauce. This was the first time I had used fish sauce, and I think it made a huge difference in the flavor of the curry. Other than that, I didn't change much. I thought the basil was a little heavy, but the hubby disagreed and said he wanted more, so I guess this was a good compromise. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a super easy curry to make!! The only thing I did differently was I added only 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and 2 tablespoons of fish sauce. You need the fish sauce to give it that authentic thai flavor. I also added garlic and green onions with the ginger. I will definitely make this again!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States