Lime-Curry Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
A great recipe - full of flavor! I do add garlic with the ginger and curry paste, and an extra tblspn of Maple Syrup (a sorta picky 8 yr old). I also sub 2 tblspn's fish sauce for the soy, add a tsp of salt, and add a yellow squash in place of one of the zucc's. This is FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Very good curry, especially for those who are new to curry. I didn't have curry paste, so I made my own with curry powder. I would make it hotter next time, but the people who ate it weren't used to curry so this was perfect. This one is very sweet and sour, with an even better taste the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Loved this dish!! I added garlic, mushrooms and chili paste to make it hotter!! I did make up the sauce a few hours ahead of time and cut up the tofu and marinated it then remade the sauce again for the stir fry. Basil was perfect and I used Lite coconut milk. Tasty~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Definitely a keeper - i added water chestnuts, which added a nice texture element; might throw in some crushed cashews next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arrdub

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Turned out great. No joke, it was very much restaurant quality. I made a few changes for convenience purposes, changed out peanut oil with a combo of olive oil and sesame oil. Exchanged 1 tbls of soy sauce with fish sauce. Simply used plain ole concentrated lemon juice in place of lime juice. I also had fun trekking through a Vietnamese grocery store finding some of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
This is a super easy curry to make!! The only thing I did differently was I added only 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and 2 tablespoons of fish sauce. You need the fish sauce to give it that authentic thai flavor. I also added garlic and green onions with the ginger. I will definitely make this again!!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Delicious. I did substitute fish sauce for the soy sauce. This was the first time I had used fish sauce, and I think it made a huge difference in the flavor of the curry. Other than that, I didn't change much. I thought the basil was a little heavy, but the hubby disagreed and said he wanted more, so I guess this was a good compromise. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I really enjoyed this, not having much experience with curry. My husband, curry enthusiast, was less than enthusiastic about it. I did use lowfat coconut milk, which may have made the difference. I won't make it again, just because I'm the only one who really enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
Amazing! This is easily one of my new favs! I fried the tofu up with garlic, ginger and a dash of soya sauce. Also added garlic to the recipe, and did sub in fish sauce which I think made a huge difference... My boyfriend does not like seafood, but doesn't even notice a fish taste at all. The end result was delicious, and I have a feeling I am going to be making this a lot more! Thank-you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PUNKYBJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
This recipe is very good and can be used with a variety of vegetables. But I made one significant change: I strongly recommend that you use fish sauce rather than soy sauce, if you can find it. I believe it is called nuoc mam in Vietnam, and nam pla in Thailand; those with expertise please feel free to correct me. Fish sauce gives the curry a characteristic flavor and aroma like what you find in Thai restaurant curries. IMHO soy sauce muddies the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States