Lime Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I cut waaaay back on the cilantro and that proved to be a good call for Hubs and me. Just before I served this I gave it a taste and thought to myself, "Uh-oh. We aren't EVEN going to like this. TOO limey!" But I went ahead and served it anyway, hoping for the best - and hoping I had enough other food in case we couldn't eat this. But to my surprise, not only did *I* like it, but Hubs did too! It's obvious this rice is much better served *with* something, in this case carnitas. They were perfect together! The amount of lime juice and zest ended up being just right, but I know the full amount of cilantro would have dominated to a fault - glad I cut it back to a fraction of what the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
291 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I used Jasmine rice with the proportions of 2 cups of rice to 3 cups of water. I increase the lime to juice of 2 fresh limes. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
231 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
A very light and delicious side dish for mexican foods. I loved the lime flavor. I used Uncle Ben's ready rice that only takes 90 seconds in the microwave, so there was no need for water and then just mixed everything in -plus an additional bit of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
173 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by JO~Lite
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
We all loved this rice. I cooked it in a rice cooker and then mixed everything in a bowl. The rice came out fluffy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JO~Lite

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
Very good flavor, very, very easy indeed! Just like the rice at Chipotle's! We used it the first night as an accompaniment to some Lemon-Cilantro Chicken, and fluffed and heated it up the next night for fajitas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmichael, California, USA
Living In: Shasta Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
I make this same rice, but instead of long grain rice, I use instant rice - as directed on package. When water and lime juice (1 tablespoon per cup of water) are heating, I add about 1/2 cup diced onion, a tablespoon of butter and a bit of salt. Once it boils, you add the instant rice, cover and remove from heat. It's simple and fast, some may not like instant rice, but to me, it tastes the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I tweaked this recipe to get a little closer to Qudoba's. I boil the rice in 1c of water, 1c of chicken stock and 1tsp of salt. Boil for about 17mins, then remove from heat, remove lid also...put a dish towel on top and return lid...allow it to sit for about 10mins...this makes sure the rice is fluffy because the towel absorbs the excess steam...after it sits, then stir in your cilantro and fresh lime juice to taste...for my family its usually 1 to 1.5 limes....this has saved me from buying cilantro rice from Qudoba every other day for my 2yr old! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Eep! I've been making this for months and forgot to review it until now. Anyway, this rice is so good. Very light and yet still lots of flavor. Excellent flavor profile for all kinds of dishes, from Mexican to Island to Asian. It's just really bright and as simple as plain rice. Try it! My little twist is to give the rice a VERY quick sauté in 1/2 Tbsp. evoo before cooking. It makes it extra light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylove

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wesley Chapel, Florida, USA
Photo by ADZELL
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
VERY good rice & extremely easy to make. I love the rice at Qdoba & I was pleasantly suprised to find that this was *almost" just like it. There was a bit too much lime taste in it that sort of overpowered everything else at times (next time I will cut it down to 1 tsp), but all in all a very basic & easy recipe to follow that recieved rave reviews at my deck party. Thank you for sharing!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADZELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Very simple, very good. Thank you. I cooked the rice in my own homemade chicken stock instead of plain water. I served it with Asian Ginger Grill Marinaded porkchops, which are also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States