Lime Chicken Soft Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2004
I really like the flavor the recipe give. I usually throw it all in the crock pot and let it go. I then take out the chicken and shred it. It is so yummy and reminds me of a great resturant in Arizona.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
517 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
On this one, I tripled the sauce and marinated the chicken in 2/3s of it. Omitted the oregano, and added cilantro (a key ingredient!) at the end of sauteeing the chicken. When I sauteed the chicken (strips not cubed), I dumped the marinade and added the last 1/3 of fresh marinade to the chicken as it was nearly done cooking through, which only took a few minutes, not the 20 mins the recipe calls for! I also added a splash of tequila to the chicken while cooking, per other reviewers; was a nice touch! Used white corn tortillas (personal fave), and served with grated colby/jack cheese, chopped tomatoes, & the guacamole on allrecipes.com by Bob Cody, increasing his call for cayenne pepper by at least double. That gave this dish a bite that I think it needed. Would have been too bland for us, otherwise, but it was a nice meal, complete with margaritas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
344 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Based on the numerous reviews I was anxious to try this recipe. It was okay. Very similar to a marinade I use for fajaita chicken tacos which my family liked much better. Sorry.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
253 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
We thought these were awesome! A refreshing change from regular tacos. Things I did differently - used cilantro instead of oregano, 1 regular onion instead of 2 green, and used the juice of a whole lime instead of 1/2. I cut the chicken in strips instead of cubing it. Used Sargento's 4 Cheese Mexican blend for the cheese. I think you should definitely use fresh lime as opposed to the bottle stuff, if you really want the lime flavor to stand out. (And its not overpowering). Also, this recipe states that it serves 10, that would be 1 taco per person, and who can eat just 1? I think this recipe serves more like 4-5. I love this recipe, it is definitely a unique and cheap dish to make for a large group!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomSavedbyGrace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by kristen m
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
At first I thought the red wine vinegar was strange, but it did add a good flavor. Overall the tacos were really good, but in the future I will omit the oregano- it added an Italian flavor, as some had mentioned. I doctored this up a bunch and added cilantro, extra lime, and served with some sliced peppers and onions which I stir-fried in olive oil and cumin (didn't have lettuce). I think cumin or cilantro are definitely more appropriate seasonings rather than the oregano. We served these with salsa. We'll make these again. **also- I found that after cutting the recipe in half (to serve 5) my husband and I only had a small dinner. I think the full recipe would probably only be enough for 4 people (not 10).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristen m

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2004
DELISH! The guys I served it to, and myself, thought it was great. Really tasty if you like lime. I loved having tacos with chicken instead of my usual hamburger meat. Instead of cubing the chicken, I boiled the chicken breasts until cooked through and then shredded them. Then I cooked the chicken with the liquids for about 10 minutes, til it had absorbed the flavors. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
Yummy Yum Yum!!!! This was so good and EASY to make!!! I mixed all of the seasoning ingredients in a small bowl while the chicken was sauteing and just dumped it in the skillet and stirred the last 10 minutes of cooking. I used a teaspoon of oil while sauteing the chicken so it wouldn't stick to the skillet and it didn't affect the flavor in anyway. DH and I loved this and so did our 1 yr old! I'm sure my 8 year old would love it too but he was having dinner with his grandparents....too bad he missed out!!!! I used 3 Tbsp of lime juice (bottled kind) and it was delicious!!! I'd recommend this recipe to anyone who wants a nice change from regular tacos! I think I'm going to try these with quesadillas sometimes too! Thanks so Marissa! These were DELICIOUS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
I love this. I brown the chicken and then dice it and return it to the skillet to finish with the sauce. I don't use oregano. I have used cilantro and a splash of tequila. I use these in tacos with avocado and sour cream. I love these as nachos on the tequila lime tortilla chips. I have even frozen the cooked chicken mixture and it came out beautifully. Everytime I make these I tell my husband how much I love them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Delicious but be forewarned that it does have a kick to it! A splash of Tequila to the sauce while cooking adds a wonderful flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
As is, I give the recipe 3 stars, we thought it had potential but didn't care for it as is. However over time I've improved it more to my family's liking. I put chicken breasts in the crockpot, add 1/8 cup WHITE wine vinegar, the juice of 2-3 limes, garlic, salt, pepper, sugar, and cumin leaving out the oregano and I use a regular yellow or white onion rather than green onions. I cook it on low until done and shred it up. That way it's a 5 star recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States