Lime Chicken Soft Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
These tacos were very delicious. However, I did not add the full tablespoon of salt the recipe called for which would have been way too much. I also added another tablespoon of sugar and a little more lemon. And the chicken did not take 20 minutes to cook. These minor adjustments made for a fabulous Cinquo de Mayo dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Rather than cube the chicken I chunked it in various sized pieces. Marinated it in 1/3 of the marinade. Cooked the chicken, added the marinade and instead of soft taco's I made two large open-faced quesadilla's and melted the cheese on top, than topped with lettuce and tomato and avocado! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
My family and neighbors love this recipe. I am actually cooking it right now for a pot puck at my husbands command (military). There are a few things I change up, and only because I originally did not have the exact ingredients this called for, but I now make it at least twice a month for Taco Tuesday. Here's my substitutions: First! Let me just say, I NEVER ADD SALT. Its bad for your blood pressure. And this turns out just fine. Its the whole reason I don't purchase packaged seasonings. Second, a teaspoon of sugar will not make you diabetic, but it will enhance the flavors in this dish. Next, I use White Cooking Wine (to taste - at least 1/4 c), then about two table spoons of Balsamic Vinegar. Last, i top this delicious taco off with a sour cream sauce that has become synonymous with these Lime Chicken Tacos. The ingredients are as follows (combine all, chill and serve): 1 c sour cream. 1/2 bunch fresh spinach chopped, 1 tbsp Lemon. 1 lime juiced (or 3 tbsp/to taste), and a pinch of sugar (optional). This makes the taco in my opinion. Top with a fresh garden salsa and you have a crowd pleaser that is far from your traditional beef packet taco's. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Only change was to use cilantro instead of oregano. I think I prefer traditional tacos - not the fault of the recipe it's just a personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I make these often. I don't really measure the vinegar. I marinate the chicken in half of the juiced lime and the zest, the garlic, onions, vinegar, sugar, salt and oregano. Then, when I am cooking it I add additional lime juice (because we like a pronounced lime flavor), and more of the other ingredients if needed. We use the monterey jack cheese and I would not suggest using any other cheese, but instead of the lettuce and salsa, we top these with sliced avocado, pico de gallo, and cilantro. We love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I followed another reader's advice -- I doubled the recipe and threw it all in the crockpot (shredding the chicken once finished). Delicious flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Baked instead turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by papamobbs
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Worg this recipe I added a little heat,some fresh guacamole and poco. Best taco I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Took others advice and subbed cilantro for the oregano. Doubled the marinade (not as much sugar though). Perfect spring dinner! Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Check out these lime flavored chicken soft tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States