Lime Chicken Picante Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 7, 2003
This was great! I would never have thought these ingredients would taste this way. I am a novice at mexican-inspired cooking, but this chicken tasted exactly like a friend's homemade chicken enchiladas-yum! i too decreased the mustard to about 1/8 cup in the marinade-- and added more (about double) of all ingredients to sauce while boiling it, and we STILL didn't have enough sauce for our 3 chicken breasts. next time i will make even more sauce, it was really the star of the whole meal. I used a medium salsa and it had just the right amount of heat. Topped with sour cream, which was just perfect to counter the heat-- no lime garnish, they had all been squeezed into the sauce by that point. served with yellow rice and a black bean and corn salad. great, easy recipe! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
The whole family loved this! My kids even asked for seconds...Only change I made was using olive oil for 1/2 the butter and topping with sour cream instead of yogurt. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
Quick and easy, but if I ever make this again, I will double the recipe for the marinade. There was not enough left to serve over the cooked chicken. What was left was really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
I made this again with a few changes and it really came out well - we all loved it. In the marinade I used 1 TBSP of mustard instead of 1/4 cup and since my little girl was going to be trying it, I used Pace Extra Mild Chunky Picante Sauce. Then I marinated 3 chicken breasts in the frig for about 4 hours. I cooked the chicken with the marinade right in the frying pan and I used olive oil instead of butter. Finally, I added chicken broth as needed during the cooking time and it came out deliciously moist. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
I loved the flavors in this marinade. I definitely agree with previous reviewers on two points: the recipe just doesn't make enough marinade, and use less dijon. Here's what I did: I marinated the chicken according to the recipe. Then, instead of following all the complications of boiling the marinade, etc, I simply mixed up more marinade, warmed it in a separate pan from the chicken, and poured it one top of the chicken before serving. I also used sour cream instead of yogurt, and LOVED it! My husband and I couldn't wait to eat the leftovers. Goes GREAT with Mexican Rice III from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
This was very good, I did make a few adjustments. Increased the lime a bit, topped with sour cream, and the best addition, added tequila to the marinade. Gives it a more authentic Mexican flair, plus I love tequila! Oh yeah, also used a smoother salsa
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Way too much mustard. Mustard in most dishes should be like a first kiss. A bit on the light side. It should enhance not be the main taste. Pairing dijon mustard with salsa is odd. Something like an onion mustard would be better. And use only about 1 tablespoon instead of a 1/4 of cup. That is alot of mustard. Yogurt doesn't really go with this recipe. Yogurt is usually used to tame the hit in a dish such as a spicy curry, so it would tame the heat of a spicy salsa, but use a good Mexican sour cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is really good. The marinade makes the chicken really tender (I marinaded it all day and cooked it when I got off work). It also was easy to scale down to one serving, which is great because I cook for myself a lot. The key to scaling it down is to add water to the skillet every once and a while as it is cooking so the sauce does not burn off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by killerbroccoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corte Madera, California, USA
Living In: San Rafael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
After reviewing the recipe and the other reviews I added some extra salsa (mild) & lime juice while cutting back a little on the mustard (I used Grey Poupon - but of course !)- served it over spicy yellow rice and it was a big hit. I even forgot the yogurt in the mad rush of trying to get the kids to the table - I'll try it next time. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Thought this was fantastic! However, much prefer sour cream to the yogurt for topping. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States