Lime Chicken Picante Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This was a great combination! I made a couple modifications though. When you arew cooking the chicken add some boullion so that the chicken doesn't dry out. I also used sour cream instead of the yogurt. I paired this dish with the Cilantro-Lime Rice and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
I made this for seven firefighters - They really enjoyed the mix of flavors. I added a little chopped cilantro, diced green chilis and chopped Anaheim Peppers to the marinade and served the chicken with spanish rice and black beans. I had chopped onions, Chopped Anaheim Peppers, chopped cilantro, sliced tomatoes, diced green chilis and shredded cheese on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
Very simple and very good! The only reason I tried this was because one of the reviews said their children had seconds. My children are very picky and HATE chicken. However they love anything with a little mexican flare and loved this! Thanks for this 5 star recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I used spicy golden mustard and added fresh mushrooms halfway through the chicken-cook time and it was wonderful!! My v articulate husband's exact words were, "That was good. I mean good, good." SUCCESS!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Smitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
The mustard taste was too strong for me. I did double the recipe as other suggested, but this recipe was lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is a winner! The original recipe left us with some big questions like "What kind of salsa?" When I went to the grocery store I wondered about many possible choices: mild, medium (they had no "hot"), mango? I'll bet any of the fresh salsas in your market would work but would make this an entirely different dish. The medium-hot salsa proved to be too tame for our tastes. I first added a bit of LA hot sauce, but it was still kinda' bland. 'Corrected that with a few dashes of habanera extract. Also, don't forget to salt it lightly. There are only two of us at home now, but I (the "hubbie") usually make a recipe for 4 or 6, and we use the excess for other meals. This morning I sauteed one of the leftover picante chicken breasts with two coarsely diced fresh tomatoes from our garden. Delicious, healthy, and compatible with our diet if the caloric estimate for one serving is correct. As I said at the beginning, "this is a winner!" IMHO. Don't just copy it. Modify this recipe to suit your tastes and clean out your refrigerator. P.S. In looking at the other ratings, you either love this or you hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Delicious! I used my own homemade salsa and sour cream. The best compliment - my boyfriend had seconds! Samdiem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie MacDonald

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wonderful moist chicken, 0 after marinating this for 30 minutes pored everything into a 9X13 clay baking dish and cooked it in the oven @ 350. I added 1/2 cup chopped onion and I added extra of all the other ingredients as I had 4 large chicken breasts. Will try this with spicy salsa next time would be great in a wrap, we had it with Caesar Salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki, Epicure consultant

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Way too much mustard. Mustard in most dishes should be like a first kiss. A bit on the light side. It should enhance not be the main taste. Pairing dijon mustard with salsa is odd. Something like an onion mustard would be better. And use only about 1 tablespoon instead of a 1/4 of cup. That is alot of mustard. Yogurt doesn't really go with this recipe. Yogurt is usually used to tame the hit in a dish such as a spicy curry, so it would tame the heat of a spicy salsa, but use a good Mexican sour cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States