Lime Chicken Picante Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I used spicy golden mustard and added fresh mushrooms halfway through the chicken-cook time and it was wonderful!! My v articulate husband's exact words were, "That was good. I mean good, good." SUCCESS!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Smitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
The mustard taste was too strong for me. I did double the recipe as other suggested, but this recipe was lacking something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GlynisTM

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Harrison, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
This is a winner! The original recipe left us with some big questions like "What kind of salsa?" When I went to the grocery store I wondered about many possible choices: mild, medium (they had no "hot"), mango? I'll bet any of the fresh salsas in your market would work but would make this an entirely different dish. The medium-hot salsa proved to be too tame for our tastes. I first added a bit of LA hot sauce, but it was still kinda' bland. 'Corrected that with a few dashes of habanera extract. Also, don't forget to salt it lightly. There are only two of us at home now, but I (the "hubbie") usually make a recipe for 4 or 6, and we use the excess for other meals. This morning I sauteed one of the leftover picante chicken breasts with two coarsely diced fresh tomatoes from our garden. Delicious, healthy, and compatible with our diet if the caloric estimate for one serving is correct. As I said at the beginning, "this is a winner!" IMHO. Don't just copy it. Modify this recipe to suit your tastes and clean out your refrigerator. P.S. In looking at the other ratings, you either love this or you hate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Delicious! I used my own homemade salsa and sour cream. The best compliment - my boyfriend had seconds! Samdiem
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerside, Prince Edward Island, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2008
Wonderful moist chicken, 0 after marinating this for 30 minutes pored everything into a 9X13 clay baking dish and cooked it in the oven @ 350. I added 1/2 cup chopped onion and I added extra of all the other ingredients as I had 4 large chicken breasts. Will try this with spicy salsa next time would be great in a wrap, we had it with Caesar Salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki, Epicure consultant

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Way too much mustard. Mustard in most dishes should be like a first kiss. A bit on the light side. It should enhance not be the main taste. Pairing dijon mustard with salsa is odd. Something like an onion mustard would be better. And use only about 1 tablespoon instead of a 1/4 of cup. That is alot of mustard. Yogurt doesn't really go with this recipe. Yogurt is usually used to tame the hit in a dish such as a spicy curry, so it would tame the heat of a spicy salsa, but use a good Mexican sour cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Great recipe, I love the blend of flavors. I throw the salsa, mustard and lime juice in a zip-loc bag and leave in the fridge while I'm at work so this is ready to cook when I get home. I've never topped with the yogurt and I don't think it needed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISTERIA1431

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Great dish, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Delicious! I'm always looking for yummy, healthy chicken recipes, and this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 176) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States