Lime Chicken Picante Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
After tasting, I agree with another reviewer, you will either love it or hate it. This has a very strong flavor and is not for mild paletes. I cooked 1 pound chicken tenders in a wok without butter (the marinated chicken had enough liquid) then added the boiled sauce to the wok along with 3 carmelized onions, some frozen spinach and frozen corn. (Rice or black beans would also be good in this) For the sauce i trippled the salsa and lime juice and kept he mustard the same. (I can't imagine using the full amoung of mustard, wayyyy too overpowering) Put a spoonful of greek yogurt on top of each plate, very good. This is a great way to have chicken and vegetables that is anything but ordinary. ...Also added a few dashes or chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
Had a really nice flavor...I took the advice of ohters and used Sour Cream instead-Yummy ...also I added about a cup more of Picante Sauce to get good coverage over the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaybella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe is fast, easy and healthy! I would recommend experimenting as with just these ingredients it seemed kind of plain. I didn't have enough salsa so added a bit of ketchup, red wine vinegar, tomatoe paste, tobasco (i like spicy), onion flakes, salt and pepper. Need the salt to balance out the lime! Also, used only 1-2 tbsp. max of mustard, olive oil instead of butter, and cooked it all in the oven, giving it a turn every once and awhile. Was delicious! It's a great base recipe to experiment with as many of the users on here have done, so don't be shy to try! I think fresh chopped up grape tomatoes would definatly add some freshness to this recipe but didn't have any on hand. Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This recipe sounded odd, which is right up my alley! We were disappointed. We doubled the marinade as suggested in other reviews and did not end up with enough to saute with at the end - and we only used 4 chicken breasts! I found it edible but the rest of the family did not. I *get* the dijon - it has an after taste that seems to go well with the lime - but the initial bite does not flow for me. The yogurt was a great touch. All in all, the rest of my family said no more, and even though I ate mine, I won't make it again. Thanks though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
This was really yummy. The whole family liked it. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CStruloeff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
A little strong on the mustard taste, but really good! I would double the marinade too. I made this for a friend that just had a baby and she and her husband were so grateful for this yummy REAL meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
We loved this recipe. I would double the marinade. We put this over pasta and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jen
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
Absolutely loved it! I actually was nervous about it but wanted to try a lime flavored chicken recipe - now it is one of my new faves! I used chicken tenders and am looking forward to try it with chicken breasts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I gave this four stars, because it didn't taste bad, there was just nothing "wow!" about it. We have lots of chicken recipes that we like better, so we probably won't make this one again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Fabulous! Folks wanted the recipe. My only complaint is that it's get's really messy while preparing/making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Beer Lime Grilled Chicken

This tangy summer chicken has so much flavor (and so little fat).

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States