Lime-Berry Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Great as it was written but I also added a thin sliced red onion to give it a "pop".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
I really loved this recipe!I made this for my sister's who were visiting.They kept saying how delicious it was.So they went home with the recipe!I love onions in salad so I added a red one sliced thin..Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fable37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Exceptional!! Salads aren't normally a mainstay for dinner in our family - but I believe our customs are about to change based on the "delicious-ness" of this salad. All the components of the salad worked in such perfect harmony. I've not used raw sugar snap peas before in my meals, so was skeptical, but they were such a perfect complement to the other salad ingredients. I could literally go on and on about how delicious this was - but I won't. :) Here are some notes: (1) I did not have limeade concentrate and would not buy any just to use 3T, so I replaced the concentrate with 2 1/2 Tbsp lime juice, 1/2 Tbsp lemon juice, and 1 1/2 tsp sugar; (2)I halved the dressing recipe. The conversion turned out well and the amount more than plenty for our needs. I did not have dried minced onion and prefer the taste of fresh onion, so I used approximately 1/4 cup finely chopped onion in the dressing; (3) I used canola oil instead of vegetable oil; and (4) I mistakenly added all the dressing ingredients in the blender at once, rather than slowly adding in the oil and stirring in the poppy seeds at the end. I don't know if following the instructions would have made a difference or not, but it saved me time and was absolutely wonderful! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhianna
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
We loved this! Each component was excellent on its own; put together it was superb! I made it as written, although instead of using limeade, I simply reduced some lime juice with a pinch of sugar. I chose to halve the dressing, which was perfect for the salad quantity. (If you make the full amount of dressing, it is equally delicious on other salads, of course.) I used organic chicken breasts which were much smaller than the regular grocery store's chicken breasts. Two of us made a meal out of this, & had enough greens leftover for one more serving (i.e., 3 people could make a meal of this). ~ Bravo, Larkspur!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
This is so good! Really an exceptional dish because everything goes so well together. I wanted to make the chicken a little more versatile so my guests could put it on the spinach or on croissants, so after the chicken cooled I chopped it up in the food processor, then incorporated a mixture of lime juice & mayonnaise to moisten it up. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by myfoursonsks
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I really liked this salad. It is nice to have something different. It is very fresh and bright tasting. I did use glazed pecans for the pecans since that is what I had on hand. Next time, I will toast the pecans with a brown sugar, worcestshire, and tabasco glaze. The spiciness will contrast with the sweetness in this salad very well. I will aslo add some red onion because I am a red onion fan. I must say that as far as my house goes, I think this recipe is appropriate for a more adult palate. Three of my four children did not like it, but the youngest one (7 years old) really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myfoursonsks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Odessa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Fort Lewis, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
I love this recipe...I did make one change though which is why I only gave it 4 stars...I put sugar and cinnamon on the pecans and baked them in the oven before adding them to the salad...really made this salad phenominal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Lake, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
5 star for taste and ease and this recipe is easily lightened up for less fat and calories. A very good tasting salad. I made this once as directed and a second time 'lightened up". Like most salads all the fat and calories come from the dressing. So I just lightened up the dressing and voila! Same great taste and only a fraction of the calories. Lightened up version - chicken: I did not use limeade concentrate to coat the chicken. I just used straight, squeezed lime juice. dressing: 2 tablespoons of sugar, and only 1/4 c of oil leaving the remaining ingredients for the dressing intact. Then to compensate for the liquid I removed, I added some lime juice mixed with water. I blended all ingredients together for a wonderful salad dressing with much less calories. Just a small drizzle of dressing is all that is needed. salad: to save a few more calories, I only used about an 1/8 cup of pecans and crushed them up, then dusted them on top of the salad. This is a very good recipe as is, but there was not much difference in taste once it was lightened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Too sweet. i even decreased the amt of sugar in the dressing and it was still way too sweet for me. All I could taste was sugar it was worse than eating a candy bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Delicious salad! You don't use all the dressing - I had a lot left over. If you don't use all the dressing, you won't have all those calories and fat. It makes me angry to see all these bad reviews by people who didn't make the recipe just because they didn't take the time to carefully read it. I hope Allrecipes will remove those reviews and put in a comment about the amount of dressing being too much. I plan on making the salad again to use up the dressing I had left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PiggyCook66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Kale, Swiss Chard, Chicken, and Feta Salad

This delicious chicken salad is bursting with healthy greens.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States