Lime Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
The fact that this is simply a lime variation of a fairly standard lemon bar recipe doesn’t make these bars any less delicious. Some of these recipes, as does this one, call for flour in the filling; some do not. I’ve tried them both ways with equally good results. I wanted these really lime-y, so I upped the lime juice to a half cup and the lime zest to a full tablespoon. In most cases (cake might be another story) I don’t care for artificially green tinted lime desserts and by doing so I was rewarded with its classic, creamy pale yellow color. The shortcrust pastry is tender and buttery, offset by the fresh sweet/tart lime flavor. Not sure how the glaze would hold up on these, I chose to just stick with the traditional dusting of powdered sugar. If you like lemon bars, Key Lime pie or any citrusy dessert for that matter, you’ll find this a dependable recipe for a delightful, light and refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Made these for a family reunion. Mostly the women liked them, not so much the men. Followed directions with just a couple of changes. While making the middle I used 5 limes so it equaled a little more than 1/3 cup. Also, I had to increase the glaze by an addional 1/2 batch to cover the bars entirely. I thought they were very tasty. I did use green food coloring as suggested, so they were pretty to look at too. I bet they would go good with a Corona - if your the type that's ok eating sweets with your beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I gave these 5 stars because this recipe is delish and even though I made a few small changes, the origional recipe would be still be great! I didn't put the glaze on top, just a dusting of powered sugar and they were great. However, there are a few things I would change in the recipe the next time I make these. First, I did use butter instead shortening because I like the flavor in a shortbread crust much more and will do so next time also. Second, I didn't like the ratio of crust to filling, about 50/50. Next time I will double the filling. Third, I increased the amount of zest a little to about 1 tablespoon because that was how much I got from one lime and wanted to use it all. I did only use the 1/3 cup of lime juice as the recipe calls for and overall I thought the lime flavor was great. (Other reviewers suggested to use more since the flavor wasn't strong enough.) I really liked these and will make them again for sure! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great recipe. Tripled the lime zest and doubled the juice in the bar and doubled the zest and juice in the icing for the extra zip. They were definitely zingy. Everyone loved them and they were completely gobbled up. I used a 9x13 pan for the recipe with no changes except those I've listed (and cooked a little longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I would never use a pan that size to bake it in I really needed a 9x12 I should have know better I bake all the time.The lime filling is to thin and I had to double the froasting then I put toasted coconut to make it look better.I measure my pans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
made these for the Super Bowl party and they were a huge hit! Great color if you are a Seahawk fan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Wow! These are soooooo tasty. My son and I loved, loved, loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I love this twist on the traditional Lemon bars and my husband raved over them!! We live in the Carribean where limes are a local fruit and they added such a fresh, delicious flavor to the bars. I will certainly add this recipe to our list of family favorites. I would agree though, that the crust was a little too much for the ratio of lime mixture. But otherwise, its a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Tasted great but waaaay too much sugar for us. Next time I'll try cutting back by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jharmon40
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Delicious. If I were making these for company, I would have followed the recipe exactly. But it was just for my own family, so I cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups (in the lime mixture) and just lightly dusted with Powdered Sugar (instead of the glaze.) I also only used 1 1/2 sticks of butter in the crust (versus 2.) My husband said they were to die for! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon40

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States