Lime Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Made these for a family reunion. Mostly the women liked them, not so much the men. Followed directions with just a couple of changes. While making the middle I used 5 limes so it equaled a little more than 1/3 cup. Also, I had to increase the glaze by an addional 1/2 batch to cover the bars entirely. I thought they were very tasty. I did use green food coloring as suggested, so they were pretty to look at too. I bet they would go good with a Corona - if your the type that's ok eating sweets with your beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Valencia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
The fact that this is simply a lime variation of a fairly standard lemon bar recipe doesn’t make these bars any less delicious. Some of these recipes, as does this one, call for flour in the filling; some do not. I’ve tried them both ways with equally good results. I wanted these really lime-y, so I upped the lime juice to a half cup and the lime zest to a full tablespoon. In most cases (cake might be another story) I don’t care for artificially green tinted lime desserts and by doing so I was rewarded with its classic, creamy pale yellow color. The shortcrust pastry is tender and buttery, offset by the fresh sweet/tart lime flavor. Not sure how the glaze would hold up on these, I chose to just stick with the traditional dusting of powdered sugar. If you like lemon bars, Key Lime pie or any citrusy dessert for that matter, you’ll find this a dependable recipe for a delightful, light and refreshing dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
We made this with out the sugary topping and they were delicious. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I gave these 5 stars because this recipe is delish and even though I made a few small changes, the origional recipe would be still be great! I didn't put the glaze on top, just a dusting of powered sugar and they were great. However, there are a few things I would change in the recipe the next time I make these. First, I did use butter instead shortening because I like the flavor in a shortbread crust much more and will do so next time also. Second, I didn't like the ratio of crust to filling, about 50/50. Next time I will double the filling. Third, I increased the amount of zest a little to about 1 tablespoon because that was how much I got from one lime and wanted to use it all. I did only use the 1/3 cup of lime juice as the recipe calls for and overall I thought the lime flavor was great. (Other reviewers suggested to use more since the flavor wasn't strong enough.) I really liked these and will make them again for sure! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Very delicious! I actually didn't add any topping, and they were amazing as-is. I do have to say I had a 9x12 and just used as much crust as I thought I should (probably ended up omitting about a cup) and used the whole amount of filling, and the ratio was perfect for me. Thanks for the great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Don't accidentally bake them too long like I did. 20 minutes might be enough time... not 25 like the recipe says. All in all a good recipe that I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Wow! These are soooooo tasty. My son and I loved, loved, loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
I swear by these! OMG SOOOO GOOD! I didn't have sufficient lime zest and I do regret that but still came out soo beautiful and tasty. I will make these again for St. Patricks day for my co workers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Delicious! I used key limes for a more intense lime taste and skipped the glaze. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Great recipe. Tripled the lime zest and doubled the juice in the bar and doubled the zest and juice in the icing for the extra zip. They were definitely zingy. Everyone loved them and they were completely gobbled up. I used a 9x13 pan for the recipe with no changes except those I've listed (and cooked a little longer).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States