Lime-Aid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
My friend used to make a similar drink which she called "Green Meanies" and we loved it! This drink is even better, so glad to have found it. It's like a vodka version of a margarita, but you can't even taste the alcohol so drink with caution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A four as is, a five with a tweak. I used one 12oz limeade, one can of water, 1 cup of regular vodka, and a half cup of UV Cherry vodka. This makes a cherry limeade! When it comes time to make another batch for the party, I just use less of the regular vodka and more of the cherry vodka since it's got a slightly lower alcohol content. The UV Chery Vodka is essential since it's red and smells just like grenadine. You can't go wrong with this mix! I also like to put about 6 frozen strawberries in just the vodka and let them soak a bit before mixing the drink. It's a fun treat later on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Wow. Drinking this now and am in heaven. I am a low carber, so used diet lime cordial and smirnoff vodka. Added extra lime juice and blended til it was nice and "slushy". So good, and pretty "healthy" too! ** Just added two strawberries to the mix - brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Excellent. Love one reviewer's strawberry idea as I discovered early on that they taste great with this. I did add some fresh squeezed lime juice for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
An old family favorite.......when my Grandmother was alive she would make these exactly as written plus 3 tablespoons of coconut snow. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
As another reviewer suggested I use either Simply Limeaid or the mintue maid one. For me the lime is overpowering. But if you add just a small splash of orange juice it takes the bite out of the lime. The perfect drink. I also just use vodka, limeaid and orange juice. Be very careful!!! You can make these drinks really strong and not taste the liquor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
My family has been making this since the 60's! We never add water -- it is also great with lemonade or pineapple concentrates! Alcohol is added to taste preference (of course)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is a great summer drink. I've made this for years and years and we use the Limeaid can to measure 6 ounces of Vodka and omit the water. When I was young, my mother made these for neighborhood parties and she used just a can of water and omitted the Vodka for a batch for the kids to enjoy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael & Nina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
My cocktail of record is a low cal version of this one: two fresh squeezed limes, one packet of Splenda, count to ten as you pour the gin and top off with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Wow--so refreshing...and you don't taste a trace of the alcohol. Just FYI- one ounce is equal to 2 tablespoons. I actually added 12 more ounces of water (use the juice concentrate container), another 1/2 cup of vodka, fresh squeezed juice from 4 limes, and 1/4 cup of sugar. I served this over the ice instead of blending it all together--sooo good. This is one of THE best alcoholic drinks I have ever had!! Great with Cuban or Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Moscow Mule Cocktail

A thoroughly refreshing vodka, lime juice, and ginger beer cocktail.

Gimlet Cocktail

See how to make a gimlet cocktail with vodka or gin.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States