Lima and Navy Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
I made it on 1/11/15, per directions except I had no fresh basil and used dried, and used ham hocks that unfortunately had little ham. It was wonderful. This is a keeper! Thank you, Marilyn G!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stan Kerr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marline
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
It turned out very tasty. I loved it. I didn't have a few ingredients, however it was still very hearty and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This is time consuming, but far better than your average bean soup. Best I have had yet! Really never much cared for it until I made this homemade recipe myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This is SOME GOOD SOUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is without a doubt the best recipe! So much flavor! My family of seven loved it and I have a few picky eaters! We had 2 extra kids here who are very picky eaters, they eat boxed food only, and they loved it!! I omitted the stewed tomatoes and tomatoe paste. Did everything else the same and like I said it was the the bomb!! ;) Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I really enjoyed this soup and I believe it's the spices that make it all worth it! I modified according to the ingredients I had on hand, but the possibilites are endless with this recipe.... and it was awesome! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Oh WOW! This was amazing as is but thought it would even better if I added a little diced pumpkin to the pot and 'YUMMERS'. The beer gives this recipe it's wonderful flavour. Great with biscuits :) Thank you... I'm adding this to my faves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Too many ingredients and wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I found that when following this recipe it is best to soak both the navy and lima beans as per suggested on the package to soften them prior to adding to soup; otherwise the soup must cook much longer than the recipe calls for to soften the beans adequately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
OMG Whup-Butt Soup...The Perfect Morning After Remedy...I Even left out the Sausage, Tomato Products, Mustard Seed, Worcestershire Sauce, Thyme, and Cayenne Pepper....But I did add more Ham Chunks, and a can of Guinness Draught instead of just Regular Beer...Best Recipe On this Site, I Have Tried Hands-Down...My Compliments to Marilyn G. U Rock Girl.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celtic Bad Boy Poet Chef 7
Home Town: South Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States