Lightning Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This was good. I added some veg. broth with the water. This has a good gravy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This was easier than I thought! I used 3 cubes and it came out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Great with some adjustment!!! We used 2 cups of meat and meat juice drippings instead of water and also added bouillon. Wanted it a little thicker will use a little flour also next time. Great for a very fast gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
My guests were raving about the sauce, but I ended up using the stovetop b/c it was taking too long in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This recipe was just what I was looking for...quick and good. I did add more chicken bouillon (3 Tbsp), cornstarch (3 Tbsp) and water (about 2 Tbps) and I added pepper and onion powder. I also kept in the microwave for about 3 minutes while stirring about every minute. Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Quick easy recipe. I added some herbs and spices to it to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Do spice this up with your favorite spices, You can use chicken or beef boullion cubes, depending on what you are cooking in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I used chicken stock/broth instead of water & "Better than Boullion" (scoops out from a jar). I used 3-4 cubes worth of boullion. This was SO delicious! I've made it twice this week. My little picky eaters nearly licked the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I've made this several times--my youngest son likes gravy on his mashed potatoes and this is a super easy way to make him happy even when I'm not cooking something that lends itself to making 'real' gravy. I normally use beef boullion and the gravy color is fine! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPRINGMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is a great base but definitely needs some doctoring! I stuck with the 2 bouillon cubes and used Wondra for thickening. I added fresh ground pepper, garlic salt, parsley, Cajun seasoning and then whisked in some lite sour cream. It still wasn't quite right, so I added a couple drops of liquid smoke. Perfect taste just like it came from roasted chicken drippings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Making Gravy

Discover the secret to silky smooth, lump-free gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States