Lightning Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I always add an extra cube. This is how my mother and grandmother taught me to make it, only they would add a shot of ketsup, for color reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is awesome, because it's low fat, low cal, (for gravy!) and quick. I added a black pepper and a small pinch of ground sage. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHOANELLIEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This worked great for me! I needed something very quick and it was great. I added the cornstarch and water, and then did it again to make it even thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This recipe was just what I was looking for...quick and good. I did add more chicken bouillon (3 Tbsp), cornstarch (3 Tbsp) and water (about 2 Tbps) and I added pepper and onion powder. I also kept in the microwave for about 3 minutes while stirring about every minute. Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Great with some adjustment!!! We used 2 cups of meat and meat juice drippings instead of water and also added bouillon. Wanted it a little thicker will use a little flour also next time. Great for a very fast gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I just made this because I was looking for a fat free low calorie gravy to make really fast. I used 3 teaspoons of bouillon for extra flavor. What I got was properly thickened and flavorful, but unappetizingly pale looking. Then it hit me - this was the sauce from the high school cafeteria chicken chow mein that I loved as a kid (so much for early development of taste buds). Anyway, this is a good fat free, quick emergency gravy. Next time I may try flour instead of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I sauteed about 6 sliced mushrooms in some butter & added a little white wine to reduce. Then I used beef bouillon instead of chicken and put mushroom/wine/butter mix into the gravy. Finished it off with a dash of worchestershire and some black pepper. I won't eat a good steak without it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Good for a fast gravy, however it wasn't thick enough for me with two tbs of cornstarch. I recommend three or even 3 1/2 tbs of cornstarch, if you like a thick gravy. Other than that, great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong, I don't know. The gravy was the color of bile, it would not thicken and there was absolutely no taste to the gravy. IF I were to ever use it again I'd use more buillon, or use Campbells chicken broth. Sometimes the fastest way isn't always the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I used twice the bouillon for stronger chicken flavor, then I decided to see how 'homemade' I could make it taste by adding basil, fresh ground pepper, celery salt, garlic powder, and 2 pats of butter. I think I could slide this past my own grandmother! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Making Gravy

Discover the secret to silky smooth, lump-free gravy.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States