Lightning Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is a great base but definitely needs some doctoring! I stuck with the 2 bouillon cubes and used Wondra for thickening. I added fresh ground pepper, garlic salt, parsley, Cajun seasoning and then whisked in some lite sour cream. It still wasn't quite right, so I added a couple drops of liquid smoke. Perfect taste just like it came from roasted chicken drippings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Quick easy recipe. I added some herbs and spices to it to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
This was good but needed just a little tweaking. I had some leftover turkey in my freezer and wanted to make a gravy to go with it. I took some of it and added it to water and cooked it down so it would have the taste of turkey. Then I added the bouillon and cornstarch, but it was still quite runny so had to add more cornstarch. I also added a little Kitchen Bouquet to give it a little color. In a bind this works, but be prepared to add more flavor(think salt and pepper) and more thickening agent. I did make only half the recipe, and what is left over will be added to a little mayo and mustard tomorrow for a turkey sandwich for lunch. There certainly is a place for a recipe like this! So thanks for that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I gave this a three only because I made modifications. I used low salt chicken broth because it had to cook way longer than 2 minutes on the stove top to get it reduced and thickened to a good gravy consistency - mine reduced by almost half before it got nice and thick. Also added garlic, onion, pepper and a little oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Add a pat of butter to "finish" it, and a shot of Kitchen Bouquet to deepen the color, especially if you are making beef gravy. The richness of the color is aesthically more pleasing. I've been making gravy like this for over 40 yrs. a little bit of oregano, sage or poultry seasoning greatly improves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I've made this several times--my youngest son likes gravy on his mashed potatoes and this is a super easy way to make him happy even when I'm not cooking something that lends itself to making 'real' gravy. I normally use beef boullion and the gravy color is fine! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPRINGMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Nice gravy. I read many of the reviews and did make some changes because of those reviews. I used chicken stock instead of water with 6 tsp of the granulated chicken bouillon. I thought it was a little salty (should have used the unsalted chicken broth) but the people at the party liked it a lot. I also add a generous dose of black pepper and a dash of sage. flavor was nice but I think next time I'll use the unsalted chicken broth and try flour instead of corn starch. Maybe it would look more like chicken gravy then. Would I make this gravy again?? You betcha! It only took as long to make as boiling water!! I don't think it took more than maybe 10-12 minutes to make 4 cup of great tasting gravy. Oh, I did this on the stove top as it was easier than fiddling with the microwave and worrying about a boil over to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I used chicken stock/broth instead of water & "Better than Boullion" (scoops out from a jar). I used 3-4 cubes worth of boullion. This was SO delicious! I've made it twice this week. My little picky eaters nearly licked the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Do spice this up with your favorite spices, You can use chicken or beef boullion cubes, depending on what you are cooking in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
My guests were raving about the sauce, but I ended up using the stovetop b/c it was taking too long in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Making Gravy

Discover the secret to silky smooth, lump-free gravy.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States