Lightning Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This was easier than I thought! I used 3 cubes and it came out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This was good. I added some veg. broth with the water. This has a good gravy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I used twice the bouillon for stronger chicken flavor, then I decided to see how 'homemade' I could make it taste by adding basil, fresh ground pepper, celery salt, garlic powder, and 2 pats of butter. I think I could slide this past my own grandmother! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong, I don't know. The gravy was the color of bile, it would not thicken and there was absolutely no taste to the gravy. IF I were to ever use it again I'd use more buillon, or use Campbells chicken broth. Sometimes the fastest way isn't always the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Good for a fast gravy, however it wasn't thick enough for me with two tbs of cornstarch. I recommend three or even 3 1/2 tbs of cornstarch, if you like a thick gravy. Other than that, great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I sauteed about 6 sliced mushrooms in some butter & added a little white wine to reduce. Then I used beef bouillon instead of chicken and put mushroom/wine/butter mix into the gravy. Finished it off with a dash of worchestershire and some black pepper. I won't eat a good steak without it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I just made this because I was looking for a fat free low calorie gravy to make really fast. I used 3 teaspoons of bouillon for extra flavor. What I got was properly thickened and flavorful, but unappetizingly pale looking. Then it hit me - this was the sauce from the high school cafeteria chicken chow mein that I loved as a kid (so much for early development of taste buds). Anyway, this is a good fat free, quick emergency gravy. Next time I may try flour instead of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Great with some adjustment!!! We used 2 cups of meat and meat juice drippings instead of water and also added bouillon. Wanted it a little thicker will use a little flour also next time. Great for a very fast gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This recipe was just what I was looking for...quick and good. I did add more chicken bouillon (3 Tbsp), cornstarch (3 Tbsp) and water (about 2 Tbps) and I added pepper and onion powder. I also kept in the microwave for about 3 minutes while stirring about every minute. Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This worked great for me! I needed something very quick and it was great. I added the cornstarch and water, and then did it again to make it even thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandysue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Making Gravy

Discover the secret to silky smooth, lump-free gravy.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States