Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo with Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
It was great. But changed the heavy cream to fat free half & half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Try to keep sauce hot before serving. Should be able to keep it on the stove after blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
The best thing about this dish is the bread crumb topping. I didn't have very much to put on the pasta because I munched on it while I was cooking! So please make that towards the end. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jonesborough, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
My husband, who hates cauliflower, absolutely loved this recipe. I served it over fettuccine, used 2% milk (didn't have heavy cream)plus added Asiago and Peccorino-Romano cheese. All you need is a tossed salad, garlic bread and a good Cab. This recipe makes much more than 4 servings, so for a fabulous variation, I added small broccoli florets to the leftover cauliflower "sauce", heated and served over thin pasta - becomes a different recipe for another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minden, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I really am struggling with the review for this. I understand that is a lighter version of a heavy dish. I am a huge pasta fan but don't necessarily eat alfredo that often. I had a half head of cauliflower to use up and made half of this recipe. The only thing I changed was to use half and half and dried basil. I added three chopped mushrooms to the sauce with the cheese. I wasn't overwhelmed with the end result. It had a decent amount of heat. The texture was weird to me. I was happy to make this to give the recipe a "face" but I doubt that I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was really good, even without the topping. I used half and half because that's what I had, and we loved it. Such a great substitute for real Alfredo. It makes a large quantity, too. At least 6-8 reasonable servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Em

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I followed these directions exactly and for some reason it came out watery. Not happy with this at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
This meal was absolutely amazing! There was no lack of flavor and the cauliflower was completely disguised, yet made the sauce (velvety!). I took out some of the liquid and put it aside so the sauce wouldn't be too thin. I used regular half and half an only 1/4 of a cup. I added garlic salt instead of regular salt to the sauce. No need for olive oil in browning the crumbs and cheese; save the fat and calories! The lemon juice was the perfect touch with the noodles. I had no idea! ! I put the noodles on a serving platter, ladled on the sauce, topped it all with the crumbs, layered baked, skinless-bonelesss chicken slices across the top and a little Italian seasoning for flavor and garnish (fresh is preferred). This dish was an ultimate winner for us and our neighbors. I've already called my mom and told her to get to making this recipe. It is beyond delicious and deserves HIGH praise!! Way to go!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
I followed the sauce recipe except that I substituted light cream cheese for the heavy cream. I pureed in food processor until silky smooth. Instead of serving over spaghetti, I served over lobster ravioli (from Costco) and then topped with the crumb topping. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Chef John said that this was a bridge recipe for those who want to eat healthier, and that I agree with. I believe it's the cauliflower taste, which persists in the sauce no matter how you try to modify it. I made mine according to instructions. I will try John's favorite ww pasta recommendation to see if this improves on the taste next time. Also, I should've cooked my pasta under al dente. I didn't time the cooking of my pasta and completion of my sauce well, and so I had to reheat the pasta in the saucepan in order for it to absorb the lemon and meld with the flavors of the sauce and cheese...by the time I was done, my pasta was a bit overdone. I added some roasted veggies and sauteed sausage to fill out the dish more. I honestly would rather have the full fat version and portion control, seeing how this recipe does not quite hit the spot for me. I still really enjoy watching Chef John's videos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Spaghetti Aglio e Olio

See how to make a super-popular, incredibly easy Italian pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States