Lighter Mexican Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
This was sooooo good, I did make alot of additions to this recipe though. I used the entire egg, also cut the recipe in 1/2 bc I only had1 lb of turkey. added cheese, put in 1/2 of the green ench sauce in the mix and topped the rest before putting in oven. small onion, garlic, rotel tomato sauce, cilantro, fresh thyme and oregano, canned mushrooms, and I used the homemade taco seasoning from this website as well. Really good, I cooked for about 1 hour at 350 and I had left overs from a family of 4. It was a huge loaf bc of all of the additions and it was sooo moist. I am def making this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mwood

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Henry
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This was one of the best dishes I have ever made from the internet. My whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Wonderful recipe!!! I did not change the recipe but I used better ingredients. I used Cuban style black beans from Trader Joe's. I used frozen fire roasted corn also from TJs. I used fresh Pico de Gallo from Fresh and Easy for the salsa and panko breadcrumbs.Used the whole can of green chiles-why waste them? Made two meatloaves and it would be easy to freeze one. Will make this again and again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Swan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
For a low fat, heart healthy recipe, this can't be beat. It is so very tasty. I followed the recipe exactly. I could not find enchilada sauce, so I swapped it for the bottle of taco sauce I had on hand. Thank you for sharing it JRS_cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This was a big hit at my house. I used all turkey burger, all 4 0z of chiles ( could have use more ) I also used Taco sauce as that is what I had on hand. This will be great for make ahead meals for the freezer...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimber477

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Lighter Mexican Meatloaf Haiku: "Five stars for the taste. Fiesta, funky meatloaf! But, crumbled too much." I'm normally a meatloaf purist with just the basic ingredients, so this was a fun change. Had to halve the recipe, having only 1 lb. ground turkey, but stuck w/ everything else as directed in the recipe. (Mine was more like 350 deg. for a little over an hr.) I used a mild enchilada sauce, which turned out to still have a little kick to it, so I had to scrap and salvage the sauce-less loaf bites for my little one. Husband and I agreed that since it was kinda fall-apartey, that we would've eaten it in a tortilla w/ some melted cheese and been happier that way, than trying to slice and serve it like a traditional meatloaf. Still muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
i made this meatloaf with just turkey meat, and hot green enchilada sauce, and all I can say is OMG! My daughter ate it 3 nites in a row. PHENNOMINAL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very good! Served it with Mexican rice and seasoned black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
1 lb turkey + 1/2 lb beef + 1/2 lb sausage = Yum! I omitted the green chiles, used 2 whole eggs, only 1/4c of bread crumbs, and sauced the top at beginning of baking only, put rest of sauce on table. It had plenty of flavor and moisture. I made these individual meat loaves in large (Demarle) muffin pan and regular size muffin pan as well (low carb version w/out corn or beans). Cheese and sour cream on the side. I'll make these for my family again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good. Very moist. I followed the recipe as written. I had no issues with 'crumbling' as others have noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hebron, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Incredibly Cheesy Turkey Meatloaf

This super simple meatloaf stars ground turkey and Colby cheese.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States