Lighter Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This is my very favorite lasagna! For years I've made the "World's Best Lasagna" on this site, it's great too - but that was mostly for our kids' Big Appetites. Now our diet is healthier overall, and this sounded tasty. I LOVE it! I left the carrots out because one reviewer said it was sweet.. I did press all the liquid out of the defrosted spinach so it was dry, and still did not add any water. My bag of spinach was 12 ounces, so I added an extra egg, considering other reviews. I noticed after dinner that I didn't have that "overstuffed" feeling from too much heavy meat and cheese. This is our new lasagna, thanks ZOO66!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAUKEE10
Home Town: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
keeper lasagna recipe... wouldnt even know its low fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
LOVE IT- We liked not having all the heavy cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
DELICIOUS! I used whole wheat "regular" noodles and DID NOT cook them prior, and it turned out perfectly fine. Not too watery, either. I also substituted 1 yellow squash and 1 zucchini (both quartered) for the carrots and loved this addition! I'm also allergic to dairy, so I only put the cheeses on one side and this worked great as well... "my" side wasn't too dry and had plenty of flavor. This will be a big hit for company :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Delicious healthier take on lasagna! My husband is gluten-free, but I was fortunate enough to find brown rice lasagna noodles, and I hardly noticed a difference in taste. I followed suggestions of other reviewers and used 2 eggs instead of 1. I would suggest doubling the mozzarella cheese. I used 1-1/2 cups and 2 would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Really good! Don't forget to DRAIN THE SPINACH! I used regular noodles, omitted the veggie juice, and just used 3/4 c of water... next time i could even use 1/2 c of water and it's be great. This recipe was a hit! Also, i added more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Easymeals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This recipe is great- with a few modifications. First, add salt and pepper to taste. Another tip- don't cook the noodles before you assemble the lasagna. This will help everything stay together better. Also- I don't add the water or the tomato-veggie cocktail. I've made this recipe twice now this way and it's a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k_tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was delicious!! I realized after I started I didn't have ground turkey so I used some chicken sausage I had- this added a really great flavor! I omitted the water but otherwise followed the recipe and it turned out great! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
With modifications, this lasagna was amazing. I think the carrots are the magic ingredient. Pleased my veggie-phobic husband. Some reviews had said the lasagna was too soggy, so I did the following to prevent it getting too wet: -After thawing the frozen spinach, I wrapped it in a paper towel and squeezed out as much water as I could. -I omitted the tomato juice. -I used only about half as much water as they suggested. Some reviews said it wasn't seasoned enough, so I did the following to add a little flavor: -I added salt and pepper to the sauce at the same time I was adding the other spices -I grated some fresh parmesan onto the top of the lasagna before baking. (Not much; maybe 1/8 cup or so.) -I used about 50% more mozzarella cheese (1.5 cups instead of 1 cup) I like a crispy top, so for the last 10 minutes with the foil off, I turned the broiler on high to brown the top up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was absolutely delicious!! I used fresh spinach (what I had) and fresh basil (again what I had) and omitted the water and tomato-vegetable juice cocktail since several reviews said it was so watery and it was absolutely perfect without the extra liquid. My 9 year old and 3 year old raved along with my husband. This will definitely be my go to lasagna from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States