Lighter Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This is my very favorite lasagna! For years I've made the "World's Best Lasagna" on this site, it's great too - but that was mostly for our kids' Big Appetites. Now our diet is healthier overall, and this sounded tasty. I LOVE it! I left the carrots out because one reviewer said it was sweet.. I did press all the liquid out of the defrosted spinach so it was dry, and still did not add any water. My bag of spinach was 12 ounces, so I added an extra egg, considering other reviews. I noticed after dinner that I didn't have that "overstuffed" feeling from too much heavy meat and cheese. This is our new lasagna, thanks ZOO66!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAUKEE10
Home Town: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
keeper lasagna recipe... wouldnt even know its low fat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
LOVE IT- We liked not having all the heavy cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
DELICIOUS! I used whole wheat "regular" noodles and DID NOT cook them prior, and it turned out perfectly fine. Not too watery, either. I also substituted 1 yellow squash and 1 zucchini (both quartered) for the carrots and loved this addition! I'm also allergic to dairy, so I only put the cheeses on one side and this worked great as well... "my" side wasn't too dry and had plenty of flavor. This will be a big hit for company :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
Delicious healthier take on lasagna! My husband is gluten-free, but I was fortunate enough to find brown rice lasagna noodles, and I hardly noticed a difference in taste. I followed suggestions of other reviewers and used 2 eggs instead of 1. I would suggest doubling the mozzarella cheese. I used 1-1/2 cups and 2 would have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
Really good! Don't forget to DRAIN THE SPINACH! I used regular noodles, omitted the veggie juice, and just used 3/4 c of water... next time i could even use 1/2 c of water and it's be great. This recipe was a hit! Also, i added more of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Easymeals

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
This recipe is great- with a few modifications. First, add salt and pepper to taste. Another tip- don't cook the noodles before you assemble the lasagna. This will help everything stay together better. Also- I don't add the water or the tomato-veggie cocktail. I've made this recipe twice now this way and it's a delicious meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k_tucker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was delicious!! I realized after I started I didn't have ground turkey so I used some chicken sausage I had- this added a really great flavor! I omitted the water but otherwise followed the recipe and it turned out great! Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
With modifications, this lasagna was amazing. I think the carrots are the magic ingredient. Pleased my veggie-phobic husband. Some reviews had said the lasagna was too soggy, so I did the following to prevent it getting too wet: -After thawing the frozen spinach, I wrapped it in a paper towel and squeezed out as much water as I could. -I omitted the tomato juice. -I used only about half as much water as they suggested. Some reviews said it wasn't seasoned enough, so I did the following to add a little flavor: -I added salt and pepper to the sauce at the same time I was adding the other spices -I grated some fresh parmesan onto the top of the lasagna before baking. (Not much; maybe 1/8 cup or so.) -I used about 50% more mozzarella cheese (1.5 cups instead of 1 cup) I like a crispy top, so for the last 10 minutes with the foil off, I turned the broiler on high to brown the top up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
This was absolutely delicious!! I used fresh spinach (what I had) and fresh basil (again what I had) and omitted the water and tomato-vegetable juice cocktail since several reviews said it was so watery and it was absolutely perfect without the extra liquid. My 9 year old and 3 year old raved along with my husband. This will definitely be my go to lasagna from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States