Lighter Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I make this recipe except no onion salt, and instead of margarine I use a cup of chicken broth. Let the whole thing simmer for about 5 minutes - thickens right up. Enough sauce for a pound of pasta. Also use light cream cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Wow...this is really delicious and sooo easy! I've made it several times now and it's so awesome that it doesn't call for anything that I don't buy on a regular basis (like heavy whipping cream). I always seem to make it when I'm scrambling to make something for dinner and it always turns out to wonderful. I throw a few frozen chicken tenderloins on a skillet and saute them and some frozen broccoli in the microwave, smother it in this lower fat alfredo and voila...I've got a delicious meal in less than 20 minutes! AND my kids LOVE it! Thanks Linda Lou for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
Used 1/4 C butter instead of 1/2 like one reviewer did and it came out well - not as creamy as typical fettuccine, but I'm sure with the full 1/2 C it would be fine. The 1/4 C is still delicious and worth the loss in creaminess for the loss in calories. :) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Really good. This is my new go to for Alfredo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
I have made this recipe so many times since I've found it and it is a winner every time! Of course like a lot of people I've tweaked it to my tastes. I add in 1/4 - 1/2 cup of chopped chives then I sautee 1 and 1/2 to 2 lbs. of peeled shrimp and 8 ounces of sliced mushrooms in 1/2 cup of margarine with garlic powder. Then I pour the cooked fettucine, alfredo sauce, mix together and add more grated parmesan to top it of and 6 pieces of crisp cooked crumbled bacon. I made this last night and there was enough to serve 10 people at a potluck, but there was maybe a serving left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
My family loves this recipe. I think we make it every other week. I cut the butter in half to reduce calories and it still turns out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
This was such an excellent recipe!!! Much better than using all that heavy cream, i love the idea of light cream cheese and milk instead! The changes I made was to melt the butter in the sauce pan and allow the fresh garlic (i used 3 bulbs) to saute for about 3 min before adding the milk and cream cheese. I also wanted to increase the amount a bit so I added about 2 Tbsp flour to melted butter and 3 cups of milk instead of 2. This still created a very rich, creamy sauce that stuck perfectly to the pasta! This recipe will definitely be a keeper in my kitchen!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This will be one of our go-to meals for busy nights. My whole family enjoyed it. Most of the items are staples around here, so that also earns bonus points in my book. It is a good basic recipe because, as many people have posted, you can add lots of different things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
as a previous reviewer suggested, I made this with the garlic chicken. Excellent combo! My 16 year old son asked me to find a fettuccini alfredo recipe and adored it! He took left overs to school for lunch the next two days! My other children ate it for "after school snack" as well. They demand it become a staple recipe. Definatey restuarant quality and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Fantastic. I love the Neufchatel cheese instead of cream. It's still luscious and creamy. I really didn't do much to tweak it, other than I added fresh nutmeg because I add that to practically everything! I'll never go back to the full fat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States