Lighter Chocolate Chip Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
replaced butter with applesauce kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I don't usually add change things, but my daughter wanted brown sugar in them. Did 3 Tbl brown and 1 Tbl white sugar. I added 1/4 c. flaxseed meal for health benefits, did 1/8 c. butter and added 1/4c applesauce. Applesauce is what started the quest for making pancakes this morning. we left out the choc chips. REALLY good! my kids love them. Light and fluffy. in the past, some recipes I have made are dense and taste very "nutty" These are WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
after the advice of others, i knocked it down to 2 tsp of baking powder. i also just use 2 cups whole wheat flour bc the original recipe (from the app on my phone) said 1 3/4c ww flour and 1/4 white flour (or all ww flour). the bf thinks they are the greatest things ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I never thought of there being healthy yet tasty pancakes. I give 5 stars for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Omelet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very good! I used 2 tablespoons of applesauce in place of half the margerine. I also used a little less baking powder (probably 4 teaspoons or so) as other reviewers said they could taste it. Served with banana maple syrup from this site and it was a great breakfast treat. These did not taste "light" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use white whole wheat flour and tried this minus the chocolate chips. I used just a bit over half the baking powder called for after reading reviews. They tasted very nice and had a nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I was worried at first to try whole wheat pancakes, but these were so good! It tasted like eating a chocolate chip cookie. And the good thing was that we hardly needed to add any sugary syrup on top. I ate mine plain. Kids loved them. And every time I eat them they are so filling. I am barely hungry when it's time to eat lunch. Will be making these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HotCocoa27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I was excited to try this recipe since I'm always on the lookout for healthier alternatives and I can say this with confidence that my expectations were met to the fullest. They were light and fluffy with the perfect texture. I'm not sure if they'd taste this good without the chocolate chips though. All in all this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
These were yummy and really filling. I made a few changes. I only had regular whole wheat flour so I used 1c whole wheat and 3/4c white. I would try using all whole wheat flour too and see how it turns out. I decreased the baking powder to 2 tsp per the other reviews. I used butter instead of margarine. I used regular white sugar instead of demerara because that is what I had. I added 1 tsp vanilla extract. I also sprinkled in a few more chocolate chips at the end, although I don't think that is not totally necessary to do next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
I got 12 large pancakes. I cut the milk down to 1 1/2 cup and used 4 egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States