Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Wonderful! Per other reviews: sautéed onion, garlic and one shredded carrot; layered fresh spinach in store-bought pie crust with onion mixture and cheese; used 1/4 c each milk and light mayo with 5 eggs; and baked per directions. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Council Bluffs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This was easy and delish! I used fresh spinach that I'd chopped, washed and spin dried. Sauteed spinach with onion and threw in about 6 chopped asparagus speers, too. I took the other reviewers' advice and added an egg and used 1/3 cup lite mayo, and used 1/2 chedder & 1/2 swiss, with some feta thrown in. I cooked it covered for 50 min but it was not nearly done yet, very soupy on top still, so I uncovered and cooked another 20 min. Then I left it in the "off" oven for a couple hours after letting some heat escape first, and it was actually perfect when I got home. I was worried about it turning out bland because there were no spices (other than a lil salt & pepper on the sauteed veges), but it was tasty! Oh, in the last 15 min I placed 4 fresh tomato slices on top of the almost done quiche, and it really added to the visual appeal--plus tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I make this twice a month, following the recipe exactly. It comes out consistently every time and the whole family just loves it, even the teenagers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I made this recipe and it turned out amazing - got rave reviews at a party. But I have to admit that I embellished it a bit and it was not low fat. I added an extra egg, substituted half and half for milk, regular mayonnaise for the lite, and regular sharp cheddar in place of light. To the filling I added chopped broccoli to the spinach and besides the onion, I added crumbled feta and bacon. I also used a deep dish pie crust. There was nothing light in the recipe but it was so good. I will definitely make it like this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
just made this for dinner. it was very good, hubby loved it as he had seconds. i went by a few of the reviews and used a few suggestions. I will be making it again. if hubby likes it its a keeper. hes the picky eater lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
The 4 stars is for the original recipe. Needed salt and a few spices, but otherwise good. But tonight I made changes. Used half light mayo, half light sour cream. For those saying the mayo imparts a sweet flavor, be sure it's mayo and not miracle whip or the really cheap mayo, both of which are much sweeter. For the cheese I added half feta and half low fat shredded Mexican. Used half a box of frozen spinach along with red bell peppers and zucchini, though the first time I used a whole box of spinach and did not find it at all too much. Used shallots and garlic vs onion and sautéed them with all the veggies first. Lastly, I didn't use crust this time. Cuts way down on the fat and calories. Just spray a 9 inch pie pan with cooking spray and follow the recipe. Both times I used just 4 eggs and found it to be enough. Added a little salt, pepper and basil as well. This basic recipe is so versatile and so light and fluffy! Make it with the same basic ingredients and add your own flair. Delicious, fun and even an easy clean up. Thanks Kristin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ93

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I used a deep-dish pie crust, blind-baked it for 10 minutes as another reviewer suggested, and added some crumbled bacon. I sauteed the onion in some butter and added 1/4 teaspoon cayenne and I also mixed everything together in a big bowl. Great recipe to have on hand for a simple supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I used Bob's Red Mill Oat Flour Crust recipe. I used less than half of a one pound bag of frozen spinach, four eggs, about 6 oz of cheese. Slightly less mayo and milk. I had dehydrated chopped onions. Mixed all the filling ingredients instead of layering. Easier. Did not put it on a cookie sheet, since my ceramic pie pan was not filled to capacity. Also added a shake of garlic powder. Good luncheon dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
very filling, flavorful, and satisfying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I made this recipe for a Christmas brunch this year and my family loved it. I left out the onion (by accident)and added diced grape tomatoes. Before pouring in my filling, I poked holes in my pie crust with a fork and baked it for about 10 minutes ("blind baking"). After letting it cool for a few minutes, I then poured in my filling. This prevents a soggy shell. Overall this was a great recipe. The filling was tender, moist and flavorful. Don't leave out the mayo, I believe that's what sets this recipe apart from other quiches I've made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States