Light and Creamy Brown Sugar and Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I'm afraid this was a flop - of course, it might have been the baker :( My husband, who normally loves cake, didn't touch more than 1 bite :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
Very tasty! I had been looking for a cream-based, chocolate frosting for a long time, and I was ecstatic when I found this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hermiod

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This icing came out totally different than I expected but still really yummy. To me it actually tasted like chocolate ice cream and had more of a dark chocolate taste. I thought with brown sugar it would have been sweeter. I will definitely use again on a sweeter cake than the one I used. I love how this icing kept in the fridge overnight and still tasted and worked great the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
This receipe was exactly how it was described and perfect for my son's birthday cake. He does not like heavy frosting. I have used this receipe now several times and everyone loves it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Caney, Texas, USA
Living In: Springtown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Quick and easy; tastes like mousse. Light, but rich. I would suggest tripling the recipe for most cakes, if not more, and possibly adding more vanilla. Completely smooth, which surprised me (because of the brown sugar). I'll probably use it again on account of how easy it was and because I often have whipping cream on hand. However, it isn't the best recipe out there; I prefer one with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
A good cream icing. I haven't given it 5 stars because it's nothing spectacular, but it is quite a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb909

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
Luscious!! Wow! This is the BEST chocolate frosting I have ever tasted....I have been making a chocolate frosting for years that I really like, but when I didn't have any butter or powdered sugar I went on a recipe search and found this one....Boy am I glad! This is going to replace my usual frosting recipe....SO rich, yet so light and fluffy. Perfect sweetness and the brown sugar is EXCELLENT in this frosting! Thank you for a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This recipe is PERFECT. I have never liked heavy, sugary buttercream frostings (or the stuff you get from the store in a can) and this is exactly the kind of frosting I love - light, fluffy, and not to sweet. I did double the recipe to fully frost my 9"layer cake (outside only, not filling, though I had a bit extra so I probably could've filled it too) and I also stabilized it by adding a teaspoon of gelatin that had been dissolved in 1/4 cup of water in the microwave after whipping. Wonderful! I'll be using this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This recipe deserves five stars because it turns out to be exactly what it is described to be (and it's super easy to make). I was looking for a lighter alternative to heavy, sugary frosting - this was perfect! However, it is definitely not anything like what most people consider cake frosting; this is more like a thick, fluffy whipped cream (the consistency is somewhat heavier though, and super easy to spread). And don't be scared off by the brown sugar - you can't even taste it at all, and it doesn't make the frosting gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2006
Are you kidding with this. It tastes light chocolate cool whip. This is NOT a frosting. Very disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States