Light and Creamy Brown Sugar and Chocolate Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I doubled this recipe, and it still didn't make a ton. Still, I really like it. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
A nice change from most frostings. Easy to make and delicious. Just try it.... It does not make a lot, however, so try it and then make more. Remember, we all have different tastes, so make it and you will see.........
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I'm not one for the thick or overly sweet frostings, so I thought this was great! I actually made it to go on some brownies since I didn't feel like making a cake, it was wonderful. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Very good and takes about 5 seconds to make. This recipe would be able to lightly frost 12 cupcakes. No way could it frost a cake so plan accordingly. Only negative, some people might find the chocolate flavor a little lacking. Like others I added a little melted chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nightowlnibbler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
the only reason i reserve a fifth star is because the frosting didnt have great texture or flavor when i used unsweetened cocoa. But after i substituted unsweetened cocoa for some instant cocoa mix i had sitting around, I lived it. I also used dark brown sugar since it seemed to bringout the vanilla flavor more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This frosting is AMAZING! It was my first frosting from scratch to accompany my first cake from scratch (a marble pound cake) and it came out wonderflly. I had to adjust the serving size a bit though. I would at least triple the original serving size to go on a nice size cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Southfield, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Tastes great! Too soft to decorate with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Very light and very tasty. I doubled the recipe, because I have about 36 cupcakes, but I don't know that it was necessary as I am icing them fairly thinly. For some odd reason my vanilla is lost, so I used about 1/3 of a capful of almond extract instead. It reminds me of chocolate ice cream. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHURLYGURL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
wow I just made this for a cake and I love it! The texture and taste are wonderful; light and fluffy like a chocolate cloud :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rexburg, Idaho, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was by far, the BEST frosting that I have ever tasted. I do not like a thick, overly sweet frosting. To me, this tasted like Chocolate Mousse. I followed the directions exactly, and would not change a thing. (Although, I may just add a splash of Amaretto next time...yummy!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverhead, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chocolate Frosting

See how to make yummy chocolate frosting for cakes and cupcakes.

Hard Chocolate Glaze

A simple but decadent chocolate glaze that spreads on easy.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States